2013 Seattle Half Marathon

I had the Seattle Half in the back of my mind since I would be home for Thanksgiving (and it was way cheaper to fly on Monday, rather than Sunday).  It still snuck up on me though!

I was all prepared for freezing cold weather but it decided to warm up slightly but with a threat of rain and wind.  This led to an impromptu costume change.  While I generally am on the warmer side, the combo of the wind and running along the water convinced me I needed a jacket.  I probably would have survived without the jacket, but there were a few times where I was very glad I had it.

My dad dropped me off at the monorail station and I walked right on.  I used the real bathroom and arrived at the start line with only a few minutes to spare.  Or only a few minutes to wait in the cold!

Hello Space Needle

Hello Space Needle

And we were off!!  It took a few minutes to make it across the start line.

Start Line

Start Line

Down 5th Avenue we went.  I just loved running with all the Christmas lights on the trees lining the street.

Up on to the express lanes, with runners as far as the eye could see.

On to the express lanes

On to the express lanes

Through the tunnel and down to Lake Washington Boulevard.  There is something so calming to me about running along Lake Washington.  I’ve missed it.

And then we were leaving Lake Washington behind and heading up Madison.  This is the hill that never ends.  Or so it seems.  But the best part about the hill is that once you get to the top there is a nice long downhill that eventually winds through the arboretum.

By this time my legs were feeling very fatigued but I was still keeping up with my intervals – for the most part anyway.  I might have walked a bit more on the steeper uphills.

I think the stretch from mile 10 to mile 12 went on forever.  Up until that point, the miles had been passing by fairly quickly.  My legs were tired and my mind was very successful in convincing me I was really tired.  But I kept plodding along.

Finally the Space Needle came back into view.  Not much longer now…I can do this.

Up the stupid hill they put at the end and into Memorial Stadium!!  The finish line was in sight!

Finish Line, here I come

Finish Line, here I come

A smile came on my face and across the finish line I went!

Done

Done

My time?  Well, 2:55:32 – what seems to be my new normal.  I keep telling myself it’s under 3 hours, which is good for me.

Medal & Sparkle

Medal & Sparkle

That wraps up #11 in 2013.  The question still remains if I’m going to make it to 12!  Stay tuned… :)

 

This entry was posted in Race Report, Running and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 2013 Seattle Half Marathon

  1. Abby says:

    Congrats on your half- I love that medal! And I totally believe there is a #12 happening and I can’t wait to read about it! Hope you had a good time visiting your family!

  2. kebe51 says:

    11 half marathons, that’s freaking amazing! So proud of you, and way to rock them! Under 3 hours is still under 3 hours! As far as #12, YOU CAN DO IT!!!!!

Leave a Reply

