Training

I signed up for the Danskin triathlon again as soon as registration opened. However after signing up I didn’t do anything else. I had grand plans of beginning my training program early (well, if I’m perfectly honest I had planned to keep up my training after I finished my first triathlon but that didn’t happen). Aiding and abetting my procrastination was the fact I didn’t start training last year until late June and I now have one triathlon under my belt. But I was reading on Mandi’s blog how she has started training for the NYC Half Marathon by getting up early to run and I was inspired! So tonight instead of heading to the gym I headed to the pool. I had forgotten how much effort it takes to swim!! After my second lap I was about ready to say that was enough, at least I’d gotten into the pool. But I continued on. I lost count of how many laps, but ended up swimming for about 20 minutes. At least it’s a start. And from now until the triathlon (August 19th) I will be at the pool (or lake) at least twice a week. Now, all I need to do is start riding my bike again and I’ll be really on my way.

This entry was posted in training. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Training

  1. Mandi says:

    Wow, I’ve always thought triathlons were so impressive! I’ll definitely be cheering you on in your training! I’ve found that posting about my training is a good way to keep myself accountable when I can’t find any intrinsic motivation to wake up at 6am. 🙂 And, I’m tagging you to post 8 Random Facts about yourself! Go here for the details: http://noapathyallowed.com/2007/06/08/random-8/

Leave a Reply

