Kitchen Adventures

So lately I’ve been in a cooking mood so when I saw Mandi had tried a recipe for kung pao from Everybody Likes Sandwiches I thought I would also give it a try! I modified it just a bit to remove the broccoli because let’s face it, Emily does not like broccoli. I also added in chicken. Since it isn’t often I actually try and cook, I ended up buying most of the ingredients, but at least they’ll be on hand if I decide to make it again. I think it turned out okay, for the most part. I had a problem with the tofu – it ended up being more of the consistency of scrambled eggs as opposed to cubed. I’ll have to work on that for the next time.

kung pao vegetables (+ tofu + udon) – broccoli + chicken
1 t sesame oil
1 T canola oil
4 cloves garlic, chopped
1/2 red onion, chopped
1 small head of broccoli, broken into florets (or leave it out!)
2 carrots, sliced on the diagonal
1 rib of celery, sliced on the diagonal
1 small packet of prepared udon noodles
1/2 block tofu, cubed
1/4 c peanuts, chopped

sauce:
1/4 c soy sauce
1/4 c orange juice
1 T cider vinegar
1 T ginger, minced
1 T chili paste or asian hot sauce (the one with the rooster on the bottle)
1 T brown sugar
1 T bottled peanut sauce
1 T cornstarch

1. Mix sauce ingredients in and set aside.

2. Heat oil in a wok or large skillet. Add onion and garlic and saute for 1 minute. Add carrots, celery and broccoli and stirfry until crisp-tender. Add the sauce and the udon noodles and combine well so everything gets saucy.

3. In a separate pan, fry up tofu in a bit of oil until brown on all sides. Add tofu and peanuts to the vegetable mixture, stirring gently to coat with sauce. Serve in deep bowls.

Before

After

This entry was posted in What's Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Kitchen Adventures

  1. Mandi says:

    Yum! Looks like we bought the same jar of ginger, even! And I had the same problem with the tofu — perhaps it’s not meant to be cubed? 🙂

  2. Emily says:

    I think you are right and tofu is just not meant to be cubed!! 🙂

  3. Stacy O says:

    I wouldn’t even know how to cook with tofu so nice work Em! That looks delicious by the way. 🙂

Leave a Reply

