15 Books in 15 Minutes

When I first saw this meme on Mandi’s blog I thought no problem, I can do this. Fifteen minutes came and went without a complete list. But I did finally come up with fifteen books. And what does my list tell me? I probably need to visit my library a bit more. After I started working I began reading, almost exclusively, what my mom would call “trash” books but what I call fluff books – purely for entertainment and books that don’t make me think too hard, which means they usually don’t leave much of an impression.

Instructions: Don’t take too long to think about it. List 15 books you’ve read that will always stick with you — the first 15 you can recall in no more than 15 minutes. Copy the instructions into your own note, and be sure to tag the person who tagged you.

1. A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens – “It was the best of times, it was the worst of times…” I was hooked from the beginning.

2. The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas – the intricacies of the revenge plot were so masterful.

3. Gone With the Wind by Margaret Mitchell – Oh fiddle dee dee! I was fascinated in the beginning with the description of the dresses and the plantation and soon was absorbed into the story.

4. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte – This is probably my least favorite book but my dislike has stuck with me (20+ years later) so it made the list. What really stuck out in my head was the fact someone interrupted the wedding. I probably should re-read this now to see if my opinion is still the same but I shudder anytime I think about reading it again. It’s like broccoli – my tastes have changed but every time I even think of trying broccoli, I’m immediately transformed into a kid at the dinner table being forced to eat it.

5. Persuasion by Jane Austen – my favorite Jane Austen book by far. I am a sucker for unrequited love stories.

6. Exodus by Leon Uris – an amazing book, interweaving several stories against the backdrop of the birth of the modern Israel.

7. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee – Scout was the coolest.

8. Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery – the red hair, Anne spelled with an “e” (which is my middle name), Gilbert – such a great story. Prince Edward Island is on my places to visit list because of this book.

9. Winnie the Pooh by A.A. Milne – this is for both the actual book as well as the Disney read-along version which I wore out as I child. I love Winnie the Pooh!

10. Charlotte’s Web by E.B. White – the first chapter book I ever read.

11. Murder on the Orient Express by Agatha Christie – a great mystery set on a train with a satisfying ending. It was a thrill for me when I was in Istanbul to eat dinner at the hotel where the actual Orient Express would stop on its journey.

12. The Babysitter’s Club #3 The Truth about Stacey by Ann M. Martin – so when I first saw the title of this book I thought it said The Babysitter’s Clue and I was super excited to read it because I thought I had found a new mystery series to read. But no, instead I found the tales of Kristy, Mary Anne, Stacey & Claudia which I devoured. I would save my own babysitting money to buy these books. I had quite a collection until one day I sold it at a garage sale.

13. The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett – a simply magical story.

14. Around the World in 80 Days by Jules Verne – I never actually read this book. I read a lot as a kid and my mom began making me read a “good” book before I could read Nancy Drew, Sweet Valley Twins (later Sweet Valley High), Trixie Beldon, or the Babysitter’s Club. I was in a rebellious mood when she gave me this one to read and decided only to read the end of this book (sorry Mom!!) so I could hurry up and read something else. Whew, I feel better having gotten that off my chest. Confession is good for the soul!

15. Pride & Prejudice by Jane Austen – Elizabeth & Mr. Darcy, what more can I say? I have read this book many times and still get so caught up in the story.

And there you have it! What’s on your list?

This entry was posted in books, meme. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 15 Books in 15 Minutes

  1. Anonymous says:

    Excellent list with excellent synopsis of each choice – a kind of mirror into your life and soul, especially Around the World in 80 Days :)mm

Leave a Reply

