My New Toy

I have been wanting a fancy camera for years now!  (See 31 Things, 32 Things, 33 Things, 34 Things, and even my Life List.)  But I was intimidated by all the choices out there.  That and I can be a slow decision maker.

Cut to the fact I am mere weeks away from going to Paris and I was finally spurred into action!  I am now the proud owner of a Canon T3i!  (Check off #16 from my 34 Things List and #4 from my Life List!)

Once I decided on a camera, I had to choose a lens.  Ugh, more decisions!  I had been stalking several blogs (Shutter Sisters, The Pioneer Woman and Kevin and Amanda) to read up on lenses.  I ended up going with the basic lens (for now).

Okay, now I have a fancy camera with a basic lens.  What do I do with them?  Enter a super timely Living Social coupon for a DSLR Intro class.  I bought the deal and took the class this past Saturday.  Wow – there is a lot to learn!  The instructor went over some basics and then let us loose in Pike Place Market to practice.

Now I have a new fancy camera, a basic lens, and a rudimentary understanding of how to work my camera and I’m going to Paris in a few weeks.  Do you know what comes next?  I need a new purse of course!  That doubles as a camera bag!  Who knew there would be so many choices?  After much internal debate, I decided on ordering a bag from Porteen Gear (although I’m still hankering after a bag from Epiphanie).  I hope my bag gets here soon!

Here are a few of my pictures I took – I definitely need some more practice!

My First PIcture with my new camera

 

Pike Place Market

Fruit & Vegetable Stand

And a feet pic

This entry was posted in 34 Things, Life List, Photographs. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My New Toy

  1. Mandi says:

    Wow, awesome to see that you’re making so much progress with your DSLR. I agree that a basic lens is a good place to start until you get a sense of your photography style. Those camera bags look great, I may have to check them out!

  2. Mrs Swan says:

    Love the fruit n veggie pic!

  3. Claire Knightly says:

    I have a 50mm f/1.8 that I love!! You can find them for less than $100, and it’s a really fun lens to play around with, especially for portraits. For something like travel pictures it might not be as worthwhile since you probably wouldn’t have the aperture setting all the way down at 1.8.

  4. Fruit Fly says:

    I wish my dog would let me dress her up that way. She DOES love to wear bandannas though, so I’ll be happy with that.

    New cameras are so much fun!

Leave a Reply

