Run #3.1 Back in the Saddle Again

It’s been what?  Three weeks since the Princess Half?  It must be time to start training for the next half!  I wasn’t sure what level of maintenance I wanted to keep.  I knew I didn’t want to start from zero.  Yet, I knew I need a little “break” from the long, long runs.  So I settled for keeping my base around 6 miles for the next week or so before I start ramping up again.

Wacky weather continues to wreak havoc.  As I was driving to the park it was pouring rain.  The closer I got, I realized there was some snow mixed in with the rain.  By the time I actually got to the park it was full out snowing.  Big, fat fluffy flakes.  I really don’t get this weather.  Nothing much to do except suit up and start.  Fortunately the flakes weren’t sticking but it did make for a wet mess.  For most of the 6 miles I was dodging puddles.

I think I need to change my run/walk intervals but I resist change.  Its been working so far, so do I really need to change?  But my intervals are fairly even between the run and walk portions, and I think I can up the run interval.  Maybe 2:1?  We’ll see.

I felt really good for the first mile.  But the continued increase of the snow seemed to directly correlate with the decrease in how I was feeling.  As I hit the turn-around the snow was starting to lighten up and I tried to focus on keeping a consistent stride throughout my run intervals (I can tend to falter at times and slow down before speeding up).  There were several Canadian geese that looked at me funny.  I am not a fan of geese. Lately, 6 miles takes me around an hour and 20 minutes.  I hit 4 miles and realized if I pushed it, I might be able to hit an hour and 15 minutes.  So I settled in and set my sights on 1:15.  And when it was all said and done I finished in 1:14:58.  Yay!  I was sopping wet, but my first “long” training run for the Portland RnR Half was in the books.

In other March Madness news…for the first time in many years I have not filled out a bracket.  I forgot to plan my vacation around Selection Sunday!  Ha!  And normally I love a #15 upsetting a #2 – but it’s a little different when it’s your #2 being upset.  Oh Duke, I still love you.  The Huskies aren’t even in the main tournament.  And now Gonzaga is out.  So that leaves me with…a team yet to be determined.  But some team will catch my fancy. And as long as Kentucky doesn’t win the whole thing, I am going to be a happy camper!!

This entry was posted in training. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

