Decisions, decisions

My overriding 2012 race goal is simple – finish five half marathons in honor of my 35th birthday.  (Wait!  I’m not really going to be that old, am I?)  And the secondary goal is to finish one of the remaining three in under three hours.  Simple enough, right?

Where does that leave the rest of the potential races and race distances?  Specifically I’m wrestling with two race decisions which I will tell you about.

First, do I sign up for a sprint distance triathlon?  This is probably my favorite race distance.  Breaking out the swim suit and the bike would be good cross training.  Or do I simply concentrate on the run and leave out the swimbike for this year?  Last year the bike and I were not getting along but with my knee much more healed I am hopeful we can get back to our BFF status again.  To tri or not to tri, that is question number one.

Second, do I sign up for the “inaugural” Tower of Terror 10 Miler?  Yet another runDisney event.  It isn’t a half and the timing isn’t ideal for work.  But I did the final Tower of Terror 13K so wouldn’t it be fitting that I do the first version of it as a 10 mile race?  Plus then I’ll have done both new runDisney events!  And I’m sure I’ll still need airline miles to reach elite status and flying to Orlando would be a great way to get a chunk of miles!  Of course today they announced the race is already over 50% capacity.  I’m going to need to hurry my decision-making along.

I think I’ve just about rationalized myself into signing up for the Tower of Terror 10 Miler – just a quick trip.  And I’m sure signing up for a sprint triathlon won’t be far behind.  Dear Bike – please be gentle with me.

Anyone else thinking about the Tower of Terror race?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Decisions, decisions

  1. Abby says:

    I do want to do ToT10M so bad. . . but I have to wait to see if this temp to perm turns perm. I was hoping I’d know by the time I go back for Everest, but I don’t think so. I’m kind of putting it in the universe’s hands. . like I did with the Disneyland Half, if I was meant to run this race, it won’t fill up before I am sure I can afford it.

    And personally, I’d count it towards your 5 halfs. If you do the 5k in the morning, then you definitely will have completed 13.1 miles, with TWO medals to prove it!

  2. Emily says:

    I like your thinking!! True, 5K in the morning and 10 miler in the evening would mean a half marathon with 2 medals!

Leave a Reply

