A Look Back: 12 Races in 12 Months

My birthday is fast approaching.  I’m not sure how I feel about this birthday.  Older?  Yes.  Not exactly where I thought I’d be in life?  Yes.  Not sure where to go from here?  Yes.  But some of that I would feel regardless of the number I was turning.  And that is all it is, right?  Just a number.  If  you were facing a birthday you weren’t sure you were ready to face, how would you handle it?  How am I handling it?  I’m going to Disney World!  What a shock, I know! 🙂

I’ve decided to forgo the birthday list of “things” to accomplish for this year.  Will I pick it up again another year?  Maybe.  We’ll see what life throws at me.  When I thought of making a list this year, it brought up feelings of dread mostly.  It had gone from being fun to being more of a chore.  It is supposed to be a fun exercise and since its no longer fun (at the moment), its not being done.

That being said, I’m really happy to have accomplished #23 from my 34 Things list to participate in a race event each month this past Sunday.  Especially as it spanned a period of several months where I was limited to walking due to my lingering knee injury.

And partly because I’m suffering from writer’s block but mostly because I like looking back, here are the race reports from my chosen race “event” each month!

And there you have it!  Twelve races in twelve months!  And by the numbers, 1 sprint triathlon, 2 10Ks, 2 12Ks, 3 half marathons, and 4 5ks!  And while I am not officially doing a 35 Things list, I am going to try to continue to do at least one race per month.  I’m guessing a month or two of not having a list to cross things off of I will be wishing I had done it again this year.  Ha!

This entry was posted in 34 Things, Race Report. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Look Back: 12 Races in 12 Months

  1. What an accomplishment! The fact that you did that even though you were dealing with injuries is awesome!

  2. What an accomplishment! The fact that you did that despite dealing with injuries is awesome!

  3. Fruit Fly says:

    That is a freaking rad year! I like the variety of distances & events you did!

Leave a Reply

