Races, races, and more races

What happens when life gets super busy?  If you are like me, you might resort to some retail therapy, or race entering therapy!  Just how many races can one person sign up for in the space of a week or so?  Let’s find out.

Do you know what happens when you are quick on the trigger to sign up for races?  You get signed up for a race before it sells out, but your friends do not.  Which is why I am now signed up for The Color Run Seattle and hesitating if I’ll actually do it.  I think it will be a lot of fun but is it a race I want to do by myself?  I’m not sure.  It’s not timed.  But I do get to run through color zones.  So, the jury is still out.

Besides The Color Run Seattle, my happy trigger finger has signed up for a few more races.  The Color Run Denver for starters!  Say what?  Why Denver?  (And another reason I’m hesitant on Seattle since I will get to experience it in Denver.)  Once upon a time when life was a little up in the air, I played a game I like to call “where would I want to move to?” and Denver was one of the choices (as was San Diego, Chicago, and NYC, among others).  When Jessica mentioned she was thinking of going to Denver for a long weekend, I asked if I could tag along.  Turns out it was the same weekend as not only The Color Run Denver but also the Bolder Boulder 10K!  The Bolder Boulder is one of the largest running events in the US (over 50,000 people and 90 wave starts).  And that is how I signed up for two races in Denver.  (I convinced Jessica to sign up for The Color Run Denver as well so this one I won’t have to do by myself.)  Life isn’t quite as up in the air as it was, but it will be fun to visit a city I’ve never been to (besides the airport, which really doesn’t count.)  Any tips on Denver are welcome.

As I mentioned before, I am now officially signed up for the “inaugural as a 10 miler” Tower of Terror run.  Yay!!  And I thought long and hard about whether or not to do a sprint triathlon this year and it came down to the fact I would really miss it if I didn’t do at least one.  So I am signed up for the Danskin Seattle Triathlon, probably one of my favorite races of all times.  My bike and I will just have to learn to get along.

Let’s see, I’m sure there are more.  Yup, I am signed up for the Seattle Marathon 10K (there was a coupon).  Not to be forgotten is Rock ‘n’ Roll Las Vegas (I’m apparently a sucker for the last day at this price emails).  I may dither over making a decision, but once I make it, I move fast.  Oh and then I just signed up for a local race – Captain Jack 8K which is this weekend.  Apparently I’m also a sucker for Capt Jack (and pirates in general).  More importantly,  the website says you get a cupcake at the finish line!  Arrrgh!

Thrown into the mix was wishing I could sign up for the WDW Marathon in January but until I work for a company that has a fiscal year end I don’t see it in the cards.

With all this race scheduling, I do not yet have a race for July, October or November.  Just give me a few more days!  And reasons to procrastinate.  I’m sure I’ll come up with several races!

All these races mean I can indulge my spreadsheet making tendencies to come up with a training plan!  Score!

Not only am I discovering the fun of instagr.am but I’ve also discovered Diptic which allows you to combine your pictures into collages!  I’ll leave you with my latest creations!

Notre Dame

More Paris

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Races, races, and more races

  1. Abby says:

    Good to know about the App! I hope they have it for iphone. I’ve been wondering how people do that, just too lazy to find out.

    The 10K sounds insane! and I totally want to run a pirate themed race so I can dress up like one!

    PS- I totally do the same thing. I always signed up for a ton at one time and then look at my calendar and have buyers remorse. haha.

    • Emily says:

      Not only does it sound insane – the elevation map looks insane! Add in the elevation and this should be one interesting race!

  2. FruitFly says:

    Races races races galore!! I love it! It makes me want to go find some and register. I should probably at least hold off until after Eugene?

    Now I’m checking out Diptic.

    Okay – at some point, even if it is at the start or the after party or the expo – whatever, we HAVE to meet up in WDW! It seems only fitting that the 2 Disney girls say Hey while we’re both there at the same time!

    • Emily says:

      Um, YES! We need to meet up at WDW!! So fitting. Especially since the only race we’ve done “together” we didn’t know each other and didn’t meet up.

Leave a Reply

