Travel List Challenge

Have I mentioned I like lists?  Well, I do.  A lot!  Lists are even better when they have to do with travel!!  So here’s my take on the Travel List Challenge (one of the many list challenges that are floating around out there).  I wonder how they came up with the places that made the list?  I thought I had only been to 32 but then as I was re-reading the list I realized that yes, I had been to Nice and to Chichen Itza so I’ve been to 34 (soon to be 35, hopefully – hey, just like me!).  Several of the trips were pre digital camera or I have no idea where the pictures are (two or three computers ago).  If I were doing a 35 Things list, one item would be to organize my pictures and get them all onto an external hard drive!

  1. Alamo –  San Antonio, Texas, USA (I never made it to NASA when I lived in Houston, but I did make it to the Alamo!)
  2. Alhambra –  Granada, Spain
  3. Andros Island – Bahamas
  4. Angel Falls  – Venezuela
  5. Angkor Wat – Angkor, Cambodia
  6. Atlantic City Boardwalk – Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
  7. Ayers Rock – Australia
  8. Big Ben – London, England (I miss London)

    From the London Eye

  9. Bora Bora – Polynesia
  10. British Museum London, England (Ditto above)
  11. Canals of Amsterdam – Amsterdam, Netherlands

    Amsterdam

  12. Cathedral of Seville – Seville, Spain
  13. Cave of Crystals – Mexico
  14. Christ the Redeemer – Rio De Janeiro, Brazil (This has been on my “I really want to go there” list for a long time – and I have been to the Cristo Rei statue in Lisbon!)
  15. Cinque Terre National Park – Italy (Hey, remember that time I fell off a cliff?  I wonder if I’ll ever get to hike the entire trail.)

    Hiking down to Vernazza (post fall)

  16. Colosseum – Rome, Italy

    Colosseum

  17. Crater Lake National Park – Oregon, USA
  18. Dead Sea – Israel/Jordan
  19. Death Valley National Park – California, USA
  20. Devil’s Tower – Wyoming, USA
  21. Dome of the Rock – Jerusalem, Israel
  22. Easter Island Statues – Polynesia
  23. Edinburgh Castle – Edinburgh, Scotland
  24. Eiffel Tower – Paris, France (Most recently in March!)

    More fun with umbrellas

  25. Empire State Building – New York City, New York, USA

    Top of the Empire State Building

  26. Forbidden City – Beijing, China
  27. French Quarter – New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
  28. Galapagos Islands – Ecuador
  29. Gateway Arch – St. Louis, Missouri, USA
  30. Gettysburg Battlefield – Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, USA
  31. Glacier Bay Basin – Alaska, USA
  32. Glacier National Park – Montana, USA
  33. Glowworm Cave – New Zealand
  34. Golden Gate Bridge – San Francisco, California, USA

    I'm not sure whose bright idea it was to bike the bridge

  35. Grand Canal – Venice, Italy

    View from Rialto Bridge

  36. Grand Canyon – Arizona, USA
  37. Grand Mosque in Mecca – Saudi Arabia
  38. Great Barrier Reef – Queensland, Australia
  39. Great Mosque of Córdoba – Córdoba, Spain
  40. Great Wall of China – China
  41. Hagia Sophia – Istanbul, Turkey
  42. Hawaii Volcanoes National Park – Hawaii, USA
  43. Hollywood Boulevard – Hollywood, California, USA
  44. Iguazu Falls – Argentina and Brazil
  45. Kiyomizu-dera – Kyoto, Japan
  46. Kremlin – Moscow, Russia
  47. Lake Titicaca – Peru
  48. Las Ramblas – Barcelona, Spain
  49. Las Vegas Strip – Las Vegas, Nevada
  50. Leaning Tower of Pisa – Pisa, Italy (Bus tour after college – I was so sick this day I got off the bus, saw it leaned and got back on.  I don’t even know that I took a picture.)
  51. Louvre Museum – Paris, France
  52. Macchu Picchu – Peru (near the top of my “I really want to go there” list)
  53. Matterhorn – Switzerland
  54. Mayan Pyramids of Chichen Itza – Yucatan Peninsula, Mexico

    Chichen Itza

  55. Metropolitan Museum of Art – New York City, New York, USA
  56. Mount Everest – Nepal
  57. Mount Fuji – Japan
  58. Mount Kilimanjaro – Tanzania
  59. Mount Rushmore – Keystone, South Dakota, USA
  60. Napa Valley – California, USA
  61. Ngorongoro Crater – Tanzania
  62. Niagara Falls – New York, USA
  63. Notre Dame Cathedral – Paris, France

    Notre Dame

  64. Pacific Rim National Park – British Columbia, Canada
  65. Pebble Beaches of Nice – Nice, France
  66. Petra – Jordan
  67. Petronas Twin Towers – Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
  68. Portland Head Lighthouse – Cape Elizabeth, Maine, USA
  69. Puerta Del Sol – Madrid, Spain

    Puerta del Sol

  70. Pyramids of Giza – Egypt
  71. Redwood National Park – California, USA
  72. Rock of Gibraltar – Gibraltar
  73. Rocky Mountain National Park – Colorado, USA (on my upcoming trip to Denver I’m hoping to take a side trip here!)
  74. Ruins of Athens – Athens, Greece

    At the Parthenon

  75. Ruins of Pompeii – Pompei, Italy

    Pompeii McDonalds

  76. Sagrada Famila – Barcelona, Spain
  77. Willis Tower (formerly Sears Tower) – Chicago, Illinois, USA
  78. Sedlec Ossuary – Czech Republic
  79. Sistine Chapel – Vatican City, Italy 

    At the Vatican Museums

  80. Smithsonian Institution – Washington, D.C., USA
  81. Space Needle – Seattle, Washington, USA

    Space Needle from Kerry Park

  82. St. Peter’s Basilica – Vatican City, Italy

    On a very wet day with a very long line to get into the Basilica

  83. Statue of Liberty – New York City, New York, USA

    Statue of Liberty

  84. Stonehenge – Wiltshire County, England

    Stonehenge

  85. Sydney Opera House – Sydney, Australia
  86. Taj Mahal – Agra, India
  87. Temple of the Golden Pavilion – Kyoto, Japan
  88. Teotihuacan – Mexico
  89. Tian Tan Buddha – Hong Kong, China
  90. Times Square – New York City, New York, USA

    Times Square

  91. Varanasi – Uttar Pradesh, India
  92. Victoria Falls – Zimbabwe
  93. Wailing Wall – Jerusalem, Israel
  94. Walt Disney World Resort – Orlando, Florida (My first timewas for my 30th birthday but I’ve since made up for lost time!)

    Prior to the drop on Splash Mountain (you can see my birthday pin!)

    Waiting for the parade

    Birthday lunch at Prime Time Diner

  95. Washington Monument – Washington, D.C., USA
  96. White Cliffs of Dover – Dover, England

    View from Dover Castle

  97. White House – Washington, D.C., USA
  98. Winchester Cathedral – Hampshire, England
  99. Yosemite National Park – California, USA
  100. Zion National Park – Utah, USA
This entry was posted in Lots of lists, Photographs, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Travel List Challenge

  1. FruitFly says:

    While I’m happy to see you hit the Space Needle – since that’s a gimme –

    How on earth have you not been to Crater Lake yet?? You’re so close! Oh wait, that’s ME that is so close. Still, it’s the one Oregon thing on the list. You need to do it!

    • Emily says:

      I know, right? Although I might have gone to Crater Lake as a kid and I just don’t remember. I should ask my parents. Either way, I totally should go!

      • FruitFly says:

        Yes, you should! It is really pretty, plus Diamond Lake is right there with boating and Mount Bailey to look at. Going to Diamond Lake is like a time warp – you almost feel like you are IN Dirty Dancing!

  2. Have you heard of the Local Challenge? It creates a 50 list challenge of places in your local area. There is also a New York Challenge, a London Challenge and others. It’s pretty awesome: https://apps.facebook.com/localchallenge/

Leave a Reply

