Run #4.3 Last Stop Before Seattle

I decided to give the loop around Lake Union another chance this morning.  I mean it had hills and a real bathroom!  I’m starting to get nervous about the hills situation.  Since that would only get me 6 miles, I still wasn’t sure how to get the last 6 miles.  But I could figure that out – maybe I would loop the lake twice.

When I left my house the sun was shining.  When I got to Gasworks, it was dreary and overcast, which actually wasn’t a bad thing.  Overcast makes Emily a happy camper!  Well, when running it does.  In the parking lot were remnants of floats (I think from the Solstice Parade, which I have never gone to – one of these days I will).

I started out feeling good and keeping fairly consistent 12:30 minute miles.  The Space Needle was looming with its bright orange top.  There was a patch of bright blue sky over the Seattle skyline.  Rounding the south end of Lake Union, I came up on the Starbucks with the real bathroom!

I continued around the lake and decided to take the path on the left side of the canal (last time I took the path on the right side).  The path didn’t last too long along side the canal and soon I was behind some industrial areas.  I went as far as the path would let me and turned around.

I finished up as the sun started making its appearance known.  Now the big question – could I have gone another mile?  Yes I could have.  But I don’t know with how much enthusiasm.  I’m hoping there is a lot of energy at this race because I have a feeling I am going to need it.

And with that, the training portion of this race is concluded.  Bring on the taper.

After 12 Miles

This entry was posted in training. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

