Life Continues

I’m still digesting the fact I’m going “under the knife” in a matter of weeks!  It is still somewhat surreal, like it is happening to someone else, but I’m coming to terms with it.  I’ve been operating in somewhat shock mode.  But it is becoming more real.  I’m going in for what is hopefully the last test tomorrow.  I finally talked with a nurse and I’m looking anywhere from 6 to 8 to potentially 12 (or more) weeks of recovery time, but I’m hoping it is not more.  If you had told me before I fell off a cliff that I would not be able to run for a year, I would have done at least one last race.  Taking that same feeling, I decided to sign up for one last race.  There are no goals associated with this race other than to finish.  No secret goals, no A, B, or C goals, just finish.  I’ll be able to check off my 5 halfs in 2012 goal (even if I fell short in the 5 different states part of the goal) and I’ll have my last hurrah before I begin my couch vacation.

This coming Sunday I will be doing the Lacamas Lake Half Marathon.  I had several options but settled on this one, even after reading and hearing about the horrific hill at the end of the race.

Is this the smartest decision I’ve ever made?  That remains to be seen, but my guess is no.  But I’ll be going out with a bang!

I’ll be having some time on my hands so any book or movie suggestions are very welcome.  Maybe I’ll add to my very small Pinterest collection.  Maybe I’ll go through and organize my pictures.  Who knows?  Maybe I’ll just chillax on the couch.  I’m trying to look forward to just taking a break! 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Life Continues

  1. Heidi Hottinger says:

    I think doing one last race is a FABULOUS idea!!! good for you!!! I am doing ChelanMan this weekend, and in a throw-back to my concussion (one year ago) a few days of vertigo this week have kept me from last-minute exercise. I had to remind myself that I am TRAINED for this already. I will be thinking of you!!!

  2. Abby says:

    You’ll definitely be in my thoughts and prayers!

    I think it’s a great plan to have one last hoorah! before you won’t be able to do much.

  3. FruitFly says:

    Oh boy! You did it!! I seriously started to consider doing it – but then just had to pass. I’ll be thinking of you and wishing you the best of luck and a fun time!!

    (Okay, I emailed this comment to myself BEFORE you ran – obviously I know you survived now!)

Leave a Reply

