2012 Lacamas Lake Half: Holy Hill!!

Before I get into all the race details, I want to say thanks for all the encouraging words after sharing about my health predicament!!  They mean a lot to me.  I’ve gone through several tests the past week or so and the results seem to be positive  – I’m learning smooth and well-contained are good words.

Even though I’m super sore at the moment (driving 4 hours after finishing a half marathon will do that to you!), I’m really glad I ran this race.  I knew it wasn’t going to be easy considering since my last half the most I’ve run at one time is 6 miles.

In trying to decide what race to run this weekend (since it had to be this weekend as next weekend I’m in DISNEYLAND!), I very briefly considering flying to Chicago for the Rock ‘N’ Roll since that would let me check off another state.  But cooler heads prevailed (and my credit card breathed a sigh of relief).  Since I’d already done OR and WA, I looked at the Idaho races but ruled out the two that were happening.  I threw out the fifth state plan and looked into WA races.  One by one I ruled them out until I was left with Lacamas Lake.  But I knew it wasn’t going to be easy after reading Fruit Fly’s race report from last year.  I asked her for the skinny and decided it was probably my best option and signed up.

I drove down Saturday and just barely made packet pickup (which in hindsight I shouldn’t have worried since I could have picked up my bib race morning).  I got takeout and enjoyed dinner in my hotel room.

I was up early and made my way to the race start.  I was happy that the weather was overcast!  I started with the 2:45 pacer.  Even though I had no goals for this race, I wouldn’t cry if I finished in 2:45! 🙂

Pre-race

We started off on the high school track before making our way down a hill and along the lake.  I ran as much as I could on the downhills (ignoring my intervals) and I was keeping up with the 2:30 pacer!  Well until we hit Mile 2.  She started to pull away and I couldn’t match it.  It was nice while it lasted.

Mile 2 or was it Mile 3?

This truly was a rolling course with slow uphills and slow downhills.  Except for the hill between Mile 6 and 7 (and the hill at the end, which we’ll get to later).  After Mile 8 we headed onto a trail along the lake.  Up until that point I was usually around at least a couple of people.  On the path it was more stretched out and I was by myself a lot of the time.  While I really enjoyed running along the lake, I wasn’t a huge fan of the dirt trail.  Or I should say my feet weren’t fans.

Trail along the lake

I hit Mile 10 and I could feel myself start to shut down.  I tried to pump myself up by saying only a 5K left, only a 5K left, which did help a little bit.  We had just passed Mile 11 when the 2:45 pacer passed me.  She told me great job and my response was to tell her I had hoped I wouldn’t see her until later.  I immediately felt horrible about saying that.  So I quickly followed that by telling her thanks for being out here.  Hopefully she didn’t take offense!!

I kept up with her as long as I could but watched her move farther and farther out of my reach.  We left the park and headed back on the road.  Mile 12 came and went.  I was holding on until I turned the corner and saw the horrific hill.  It makes the hill at the end of Seattle RnR look like a walk in the park.  I started walking backwards at one point.  I also started tearing up because while I wanted this hill to be over I knew that once this race was over, it would mean I’m done with races for a while.  Part of me wanted it to continue.

Evil, evil hill

Needless to say I was a wreck at the top of the hill.  I kept walking.  I could not convince myself to run, which will come back to haunt me at the end.  Finally I was at the track and I started running.  Or shuffling.  I rounded one corner and another and then crossed the finish line!  Yay!  Done!  (Side note – the medal was tiny, but well-earned.)

Done!

So how’d I do?  Well according to the results page I finished in 2:49:23 (see if only I had started running earlier I would have for sure PR’d).  However 2:49:23 is listed as both my chip time and my gun time and I know it took me awhile to cross the start line.  (Plus my Garmin says 2:48:57 which would have been a definite PR and I didn’t hit stop until after getting my medal.)  So here is my dilemma.  I am a rule follower and 2:49:23 is my official time, which is not a PR.  Do I go with my Garmin time?  But it is not official.  Or do I guess at how long it took me to get to the start line?  Problem is that still isn’t official.  Or do I just live with it?  Since even though it would be a PR, it wouldn’t be much of a PR.  There is a link on the website where I can email in for a correction so I’ll at least try that route.  Stay tuned…

And a few more pictures, courtesy of Instagram:

Pre-race nails!

Ready to go

Tiny medal, but cute

Yum! Eat up!

 

This entry was posted in 12 by 2012, Race Report. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 2012 Lacamas Lake Half: Holy Hill!!

  1. FruitFly says:

    So they lied. They claimed a “bigger medal”. Yeah, no.

    Anyway – you did freaking awesome!! I couldn’t even get sub 3 on that race. I had a total mental breakdown. I loved the trail part but just kept breaking down. I mean I laid make a freaking bouquet for Pete’s sake! Sounds like you enjoyed yourself, and heck you pretty much PR’d! I hope they fix your time for you!!

    Congratulations! Now, go and take care of yourself. Before you know it you’ll be back in the racing world again – perhaps even earning more Disney bling that we all love so much!

Leave a Reply

