Tales From the Couch Part V

Here I am, still coming to you from the couch.  My days are very scintillating lately.  For starters, I wake up around 7:30 or 8 and then go for my walk.  I spend the rest of the day alternating from the couch to the chair outside (if it is nice out), watching TV, reading, maybe watching a little more TV, going through pictures, taking a nap, playing on the internet, a little more reading and then its time for bed.

I had a little excitement on my walk this morning.  I was strolling along the sidewalk, on a street I have walked on many times, when I heard rustling in the more densely forested woods to my right, followed by a growl.  Yes, a growl.  I sped up as much as I could, which wasn’t much.  Now when I say I live in Seattle, what I actually mean is I live in the proximity of Seattle in the suburbs on the east side of Lake Washington.  And in my neck of the woods over the years there have been bear, coyote, and even bobcat sightings.  Lions, tigers, bears – oh my!

The little voice inside my head piped up to tell me to cross to the other side of the street. Since the last time I didn’t listen to that voice I fell off a cliff, I decided to listen and continued up to the nearest crosswalk.  (Side note – now that I have been removed from my accident it is way more fun to say I fell off a cliff!)

The other side of the street was much more grassy and open so if there were any creatures hiding they would be visible.  Instead of surprising me and jumping out of the woods.  Did I really hear a growl?  Who knows.  It could have been my imagination or a motorcycle or something else.  I finished up my walk with no other issues.

My appetite has returned.  Which is both a good and bad thing.  On the one hand I am no longer eating only jello and popsicles.  But on the other, I am eating and not working out.  Hmm….  And to put it all out there, I’m not putting a lot of thought into what I’m eating (my energy is apparently going towards my healing) and I find myself snacking since walking from the couch to the kitchen is a good way to get the blood flowing.  It is what it is.  I’m not going to stress about a few pounds (hopefully).

A few pics from the last few days:

Time for a walk?

Flowers from my aunt because they match my hair!

I love walking by this fence

 

This entry was posted in Recovery. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

