Tales From the Couch Part VI

Hey!  Guess where I’m at?  If you guessed sitting on my couch you would be entirely correct.  It might be the title that gives it away.  On my walk this morning I was reflecting about being on the sidelines (again) and feeling a smidge sorry for myself.  I am not a fan of exercise.  I have never really liked working out.  I don’t even really care for running all that much.  And hot yoga?  Honestly, is a little bit like torture.  Good torture.  I like how it makes me feel in the end, but still torture, torture.  This is also why I sign up for so many races.  If I have something to work towards, I enjoy waking up and going for a run.  I am able to convince myself to go to hot yoga.  And I have no problem getting on a treadmill.

I love races.  I love the camaraderie with the many other strangers lined up at the start line.  I love the palpable excitement on race morning.  I love the butterflies right before the start.  I love crossing the finish line.  Back up, I love seeing the finish line in the distance and knowing I am this close to accomplishing something that I have put blood, sweat and tears into.

But as I was walking this morning, with the sun shining and a slight breeze in the air, I wanted to run so bad.  My legs were itching to run.  (Hence, feeling sorry for myself.)  With this, my second stint on the sidelines, I realized that somewhere along the lines I have gotten used to running, to moving, to working towards a goal.  Goes to show you that sometimes you don’t know what you’ve got til its gone.

I’m sure there will come a day when I take running for granted (again) but it was a nice reminder to appreciate your body (and health).

Well that is enough introspection for today.  I’ve been trying to do one or two things each day.  Today’s mission: to make Cinnamon Blueberry Biscoff Breakfast Cookies.  Can I just say I love Amanda from Kevin & Amanda?  I started drooling when I first spied these cookies on her blog.  And I love biscoff (which I first discovered in Brussels as speculoos, which is basically gingerbread deliciousness).  It has been a long time since I’ve attempted to make cookies.  However, I learned from my last foray into the kitchen and checked that I had ALL ingredients before embarking on my baking journey.   Point for me!  So yes, cookies.  For the most part the experiment was successful.  I didn’t mix in the blueberries and white chocolate chips as well as I should have and the cookies didn’t quite turn out in any uniform shape but that did not detract at all from the taste.  Yum!

From this

To this

This entry was posted in Recovery, What's Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tales From the Couch Part VI

  1. Those cookies look awesome!!!

Leave a Reply

