Run #6.1 It Happened

I couldn’t decide how to label this since half marathon #5 happened so quickly and without any training runs.  But since this will be #6 (if it happens) so #6.1 it is.  No, I haven’t officially decided Vegas is going to happen, but I figured I needed to start putting in the work in case it does happen.

I made my way to the park as night was fading.  Wannabe came on my iPod as I was warming up, which you can’t go wrong doing a little zig-a-zig-ah as a warm up!  I miss the Spice Girls.

The first mile was rough.  I determined I was overdressed by one shirt.  Even though it is fall, which is very evident by the rain we’ve had and the leaves on the ground, it was still a balmy 58 degrees or so.  And it was humid.  Granted, I realize Seattle humidity isn’t serious humidity, but I still felt heavy.

After the first mile, I felt like I started moving better.  There were lots and lots of snails and slugs on the trail that I avoided.  I was worried the first bathroom I passed would be closed, but thankfully it wasn’t!  I debated taking off one of my shirts but decided to leave it on since then I’d have to carry it and I really didn’t want to do that either.  Onwards.

Towards the turn-around point my foot started bothering me.  I tried adjusting my shoelaces, since it felt like my shoe was just tied a little too tight.  That helped for a while before it started to bother me again.

I had tried to up to my intervals back to 2 minutes of running.  That worked at first but the closer I got to the end, the running intervals started decreasing.  Of course, I was feeling pretty much at my worst, walking dejectedly, when I happened to pass by a co-worker who was looking strong and fast.  That spurred me on and finally I was done.  Whew!

Start of the trail

So….this happened.  My foot was still bothering me so I loosened my shoelace even more and drove to church.  Normally I try to go to church Saturday night, leaving my Sunday mornings wide open for long runs but then life happens and sometimes I end up at church on Sunday morning directly after running.  I cleaned up as best I could (love baby wipes!) and tried not to sit too close to anyone.  All through church, the thought going through my mind is “I really want to take off my shoe.  I just want to take off my shoe.”  My shoe is untied at this point, but still on.  We get to the middle-ish part of the sermon (and the heart of it) and my pastor starts talking that metaphorically you need to take off your shoe, and proceeds to demonstrate by taking off his shoe.  I kid you not.  It was all I could do not to crack up.  Because that was all I wanted to do – literally rather than metaphorically.  Okay God, I’m listening.  Ha!  Finally I got to go home and take off my shoe – for real.

For October, I’m playing along with Fat Mum Slim’s Photo-a-day challenge.  Today’s prompt was “makes you laugh”.  What better than my sister’s two bulldogs?

Samson & Jensen

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Run #6.1 It Happened

  1. Hello Emily,
    Just a quick message to ask if you would be interested in a ‘mutual’ following on twitter. I am currently following you now and am awaiting for your follow-back. (#FYI I do RT’s ‘anytime’ for all #Triathletes #Cyclists #UltraRunners #Marathoners #FitnessProfessionals who follow me on Twitter and have something important they want mentioned for support…)

    All the very best for the rest of 2012 and beyond Emily. Look forward to hearing from you…

    Darin
    twitter.com/DarinArmstrong
    #TeamLIVESTRONG

Leave a Reply

