Sun, Sand, & Tsunamis?! Part II

About a year and a half ago, I was enjoying a lovely luau while on vacation in Honolulu, when we received word that a devastating earthquake had struck Japan and a tsunami was heading our way.  I learned all about vertical safety zones, bought chocolate and Doritos (to help combat the stress), and after a long night spent on the floor, we woke up happy to learn that the tsunami washed ashore without much power or force.

None of this was really at the forefront of my mind when my brother & his fiancée announced they were getting married in Honolulu.  My first reaction was happiness to be returning to Hawaii.  It was going to be a quick trip, but hey, a quick trip to Hawaii is better than nothing!

Now that I’ve foreshadowed the ending of this post, I’ll start at the beginning!

After a long flight, we arrived in Honolulu.  My mom and I got our nails done, before I met up with my sis & bro-in-law for dinner at Morimoto’s (of Iron Chef fame).  It was good, but not as good as I was expecting.

I woke up the next morning and headed to the yoga class.  Doing yoga next to the beach and listening to the waves crash was amazing!  As I lay there at the end of the class, I realized I am such a water person.  I have come to this conclusion many a time, but it was reinforced once again.

Yoga near the beach

After yoga, I got mostly ready and then headed over to get my hair done.  I thought getting my hair done would make me feel pretty! 🙂  My hair stylist told me she would give me 3 hour pretty, which cracked me up.  Especially since I think the wedding was probably at that point closer to 4 hours away!  But she did her magic and my hair looked fantastic, if I do say so myself.

With my “3 hour pretty” hair

We took a limo out to the wedding site (climbing in and out of a limo in fancy clothes is not easy).  The wedding was beautiful and my baby brother is now a married man.  We returned back to town to celebrate the new Mr. & Mrs.

Congrats to the happy couple!

Last time I was in Honolulu, I had really wanted to visit the Dole Plantation but the day we were supposed to go was the day after the tsunami we we stuck close to the hotel.  I was determined to visit the Dole Plantation this time!  My sister and I set out (my bro-in-law wasn’t feeling well so decided not to join us), but first visited Ka’ena Point, which is the westernmost point (on our way there we drove by Aulani and I waved to Mickey!).  Ka’ena Point was absolutely beautiful and the waves were ginormous!!

Ka’ena Point

After a delicious lunch at a Thai restaurant my sister had found on Yelp (hello pumpkin curry!), I finally made it to the Dole Plantation!!  I love pineapples.  And I was super excited to have a Dole Whip.  The have a little train that tours around the fields and tells you about growing pineapples (and other fruits and vegetables).  The soil was red and let’s see if I remember why…  I want to say it is due to the iron in the soil, but I can’t remember.  I really enjoyed our trip to the plantation.

Mmm, Dole Whip

Saturday morning I woke up for run #6.3 and then spent the rest of the day on the beach, starting first chocolate milk before moving on to fruity drinks.  My sister came and joined me under the umbrella I rented for the day.  We took several dips in the ocean in between fruity drinks and relaxing.  It was fabulous.  I finished off my day with a lovely massage!

Fruity drink o’clock

I met back up with my sister & bro-in-law for dinner.  During dinner, I got a text from a friend that there had been an earthquake in British Columbia setting off a tsunami, which was heading towards Honolulu.  Seriously, again?  You have got to be kidding me!  The tsunami was imminent as the first reports had indicated it wasn’t a tsunami and so the restaurant was closing for the night.  We started heading back towards our hotels (they were staying at a different hotel) and I saw that all the stores were closing.  I couldn’t even stop and get chocolate, water, and Doritos!  They were staying on the 19th floor so I told them they were in the vertical safety zone and should be fine.  We said goodbye and good luck.  I texted my brother and found out he was on the 7th floor (in Maui where they were honeymooning) so he was in the vertical safety zone as well.  I was staying on the 4th floor, which I knew was borderline safe.  I asked the hotel if they were going to evacuate and they said not at that time, but there would be announcements if that changed.  Since I was leaving the next day, I went up to my room to pack.  I bonded with the news anchors as they were my source of information.  After I finished packing, I changed into my jammies, figuring if I was going to get evacuated, it would have already happened!  It seemed as if as soon as I was settled in my bed, the alarms started going off.  Yup, time to evacuate.  I didn’t think to change into real clothes (oops!  I think I was one of the few people in my jammies) or grab a pillow but instead grabbed my phone and room key and headed up to the ballroom where I would spend the next few hours.  Fortunately the hotel was handing out water, potato chips, and nutella (which is basically like chocolate and seriously – crunching the potato chips helps with the stress) along with pillows and blankets.  I didn’t manage to grab a pillow, but I did get a blanket and attempted to sleep on the floor.  Finally we got the all clear and I headed back to my room to try to get a little bit of sleep.

Trying to sleep

And so ends the fun, but quick, and slightly scary trip to Honolulu!

This entry was posted in Hawaii, Trip Report. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sun, Sand, & Tsunamis?! Part II

  1. Abby says:

    Congrats to the happy couple and YaY! for Dole Whips!

  2. dnardi710 says:

    How amazing is yoga on or by the beach?!? It seriously changes my whole mindset and practice, I wish I could do all my yoga on the beach! And I’d LOVE to try a “real” Dole Whip from the Dole Plantation…maybe one day!

Leave a Reply

