A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to Black Friday

Hopefully all of you who braved Black Friday found some great deals!  I didn’t do *much* shopping, with the key word being much.  I did stick to the safety of my own home and my computer.

Before I tell you what I bought, let me back up a little.  The Tinker Bell Half Marathon was so much fun, but when the date moved up a weekend, I figured it was just not in the cards.  And before I could change my mind, the race sold out.  So that was that.  Or so I thought.

I think it must have been the buzz around the Princess Half and the super cool anniversary medal and the talk about being a perfect Princess (i.e. running it every year since the race started) that got me thinking.  Tink is the only race for which I can be perfect.  But the race was sold out.  So my decision continued to be made for me.

And then runDisney posted a teaser about “if you missed out on being green, come back on Black Friday”.  My mind feverishly started processing.  Could this be additional registrations for Tink?  Is this my chance?  But would I be able to make it work?  It is still a horrendous weekend for me to be gone.  But maybe if I flew down Saturday morning and back Sunday night…  It is only a 2-ish hour flight from Seattle.  Hm….what to do?  Of course, maybe the teaser was for something totally different and I’m getting myself worked up over nothing.  I finally decided to go ahead and register, if that was the promotion.

Sure enough, that was the promotion.  A few clicks later (before I could think and rethink my decision) and I was registered!  Now that I am registered, the reality is slowly sinking in that I am going to be running the Tinker Bell Half.  In January.  What have I gotten myself into?!

Part II coming soon?

This entry was posted in runDisney, Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to Black Friday

  1. hemingwayrun says:

    That’s the best way to get out running, just apply for a race!

  2. dnardi710 says:

    Oh, I am so jealous! I was so tempted to register, but it’s so far from NY and just is such hard timing right after Marathon Weekend and Goofy…maybe next year, I really love that medal!

  3. Heidi Hottinger says:

    Emily, I’ll be there, TOO! staying at the BW Stovall’s Inn on Katella, arriving Friday, leaving Monday (I like to make it as easy as I can!). I hope I can finally meet you at some point. Doing the Yukon Do it Half marathon on New Year’s Eve in Port Orchard…..not so sure that was a great idea three weeks before, but I won’t push it! 🙂

  4. Abby says:

    YaY!! I’m so glad you did it. Jealous of being a perfect Tink, but you totally need to be 🙂

    Hopefully I’ll get out there next year. It was just too much with WDW weekend AND Princess- RIGHT after Christmas. My checkbook is crying right now.

    • Emily says:

      Oh my gosh!! My checkbook is crying too!! But I couldn’t pass this up. My goal is at least the first 5 years… I know – Tink & Princess are close enough together – I can’t imagine trying to do all three!!

  5. Fruit Fly says:

    Hot diggity dog!!! I’m so excited for you!!!!!

Leave a Reply

