Where I Was Brave and I Saw Mickey

Remember that time I went to Orlando?  A couple of months ago?  I’m finally getting around to posting about it.  So if you are interested, sit back, relax, grab a cup of hot cocoa (as the weather has gotten cold!!) and we’ll go back to the beginning of November.

As much as I like to travel, I did not relish the idea of back to back weekends with 5+ hour flights.  But my trip to Orlando had been planned for months and months and I wasn’t going to miss my brother’s wedding, so back to back trips it was.

When my BFF Michelle (and my original BDF or best Disney friend) suggested an adults trip to Universal Studios, I was all on board, even knowing I would either be too chicken to ride the big rides or need to hold Michelle’s hand.  Have I mentioned I’m a scaredy chicken?  Especially when it comes to roller coasters?  But a chance to hang out with some of my favorite peeps?  I’ll take that!

Universal Studios

Universal Studios

Early on in the planning we tried to figure out a way to visit Magic Kingdom (again, considering both Michelle & I were going) but it didn’t seem possible.  Oh well.  As Jason said, it seemed a little wrong to be in Orlando and not visiting Mickey.

I met my posse at the airport and we made our way to the hotel.  We were starving and walked a few blocks and found a pizza place.  It was delicious!!

Only having two days we were up early, ready to go have some fun!  We decided to do Universal Studios first, leaving Islands of Adventure for the next day as it was open later on Saturday.  This would turn out to be a fantastic idea!

The first ride we walked by was the crazy looking Hollywood Rip Ride Rockit.  I took one look and said absolutely not.  Definitely not as the first ride of the day!!  Khrissy & I waited while Christian, Jason & Michelle braved the ride, which “broke” right after they finished so they walked off the ride with “fastpass” tickets to use later.  (I can’t remember what Universal calls fastpass, so we’ll call them fastpass tickets.)  From there it was Twister, the Mummy Ride (I heart the Mummy movies!), Disaster, Men In Black (I heart Will Smith), and the Simpsons ride.  And then it was lunch time!

During lunch we were realizing we didn’t have much more to do at this park.  What else could we possibly do?  Wink, wink, nudge, nudge…  So we whip out our smart phones to see how late the Magic Kingdom was open.  Odd, it was closed at 7 PM.  And then it dawned on me – it had to be the last night of Mickey’s Not So Scary Halloween party!!  More research and a quick decision later and we had our tickets to go see Mickey!!

We finished up at Universal (ET, Shrek, Despicable Me, Terminator) before walking by the crazy roller coaster from this morning.  I had been working on my courage all day and Christian grandly gave me his fastpass so I could experience the ride for myself.  Breathe.  In and out through your nose.  Yes, I resort to yoga breathing to get me through roller coasters.  What was fun about this ride was that you could choose your own music that would play (I chose No Doubt’s Hella Good).  The song gave me something to focus on besides the crazy loops and ups and downs.  I would later say this was my favorite big ride.  When I was done anyway.  Ha!  This ride also taped you and you could watch the playback.  The video made very apparent that the only way I survive this rides is 1) screaming and 2) keeping my eyes closed tight!  So the goal for the rest of the trip was to open my eyes at least a little bit on the big rides.

I survived!!  Hollywood Rip Ride Rockit

I survived!! Hollywood Rip Ride Rockit

It was time to say goodbye to Universal as we caught a cab to Disney.  What we learned was even if you are a taxi, you still have to pay a parking fee, unless you can show a room key.  Really Disney?  I don’t spend enough on you as it is?  We paid the silly fee and soon were on the monorail to the Magic Kingdom!!

We made it!!

We made it!!

I cannot tell you how happy I was to be at MK.  It is my happy place.  Even if I did not have a costume on, did not even have a Disney shirt on and did not have my usual Disney backpack.  I felt somewhat out-of-place.  But that lasted all of about 2 seconds as I saw the Halloween decorations.  Hooray!!  We rode a few rides, had some corn dog nuggets while we waited for the parade (love the Headless Horseman!), watched the fireworks show and continued on with our night.  We ended up at new Fantasyland and to our surprise the Little Mermaid was open!!  It is basically the exact same ride as at Disneyland, except the outside and line is way cooler!!  I must say I was a little disappointed with the candy we got (except for the line with Princess fruit snacks, because you know how I love Princess fruit snacks – I might have gotten in that line twice).  And before you know it, it was time to leave.  But I was so happy we were able to sneak in a quick trip!!

Me & Maleficent

Me & Maleficent

Woohoo!!  Harry Potter day!  We made our way to Islands of Adventure and headed immediately back towards Hogwarts.  They really did a good job with Harry Potter land.  I declined to go on the crazy Dueling Dragons ride.  But I was happy to go on the Harry Potter ride and follow it with some butterbeer.  Yum!!

Hogwarts Express

Hogwarts Express

I don’t remember much more except Spiderman was awesome!!  I survived The Hulk (barely).  I attempted to open my eyes and of course the moment I open my eyes we are flipping upside down.  Close the eyes!!  Close the eyes!!  We ended up back in Harry Potter land where I finally braved the Dueling Dragons.  This time when I attempted to open my eyes it was right before we were about to hit a wall!!  This is why I keep my eyes closed!!  Ha!!

Mmm, butterbeer

Mmm, butterbeer

 

We finished up the night at the pizza place we had discovered our first night and then said our goodbyes as everyone but me had early morning flights.  What a fun trip!!

But it didn’t end there!  What was I going to do by myself until it was time to head to the airport?  When I finally got out of bed, I had a very hot run followed by a delicious chocolate milk.

I still had time so I made my way down to the City Walk where I had lunch at Emeril’s restaurant and had the most delicious banana creme pie!  OMG!  It was so good!

Mmm, delicious!

Mmm, delicious!

This would have been a good place to end, except for the shuttle drama.  I was sitting in the lobby waiting and waiting and waiting for my shuttle.  When it was 15 minutes late, I call to be told the driver was on his way.  Another 10 minutes pass and I call again.  I am told the driver is on his way, but they will send a taxi directly to me and I should take whichever one arrives first.  Finally the taxi arrives.  At this point it is close to an hour after I was originally supposed to catch my shuttle.  I was definitely getting nervous and close to panicking.  But I made it to the airport and still had time to do a little last minute shopping before heading through security.  Whew!!

And now we will end this long overdue glimpse into my trip to Orlando, where I still was able to visit Mickey!

Me & Mickey

Me & Mickey

 

This entry was posted in Disney, Orlando, Trip Report. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

