Welcome 2013

New Year’s Eve has never been my favorite holiday.  Case in point, I spent the waning hours of 2012 in bed, asleep.  Until midnight that is.  When I was rudely awakened by the people who thought it was a great idea to shoot off fireworks in my neighborhood.  And these were serious fireworks.  After saying hello to the new year, I was finally able to tune out the fireworks enough to fall back asleep.

I was not loving my alarm when it went off on the first day of the New Year.  The reason I set an alarm was so I could get out the door in enough time to run 6 miles before yoga.  Long story short – mission accomplished.

I arrived at the park as the night was slowly turning to day.  It was chilly brr cold!!  I bundled up, but not too much, and set off.  I was at the park near my house, which meant lots of loops.  And avoiding the ice.  Yikes!!  But watching the sky lighten up was absolutely beautiful.  As was the glimpse of the mountain through the trees.

I ended up doing 6.2 miles and so I dubbed it the first annual Emily’s Welcome to the New Year Frosty 10K.  Whoa, now that is a mouthful!

Next up was yoga.  I enjoy hot yoga after cold runs – it helps warm me up and loosen me up!  Sometimes I can only do a few postures, but today I rocked the class, if I do say so myself.

The rest of the day was spent in the kitchen, making lunches for the upcoming week (even though tomorrow is Wednesday).  Work is about to get a little insane, so prepared meals are a good thing.  No thinking involved for that age old question of “what’s for lunch/dinner?”

And that was my day.

This entry was posted in Random. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Welcome 2013

  1. Abby says:

    That’s a good day! And more than most accomplished!

  2. dnardi710 says:

    Wow, you had a great New Year’s Day! Running, yoga AND preparing meals – good for you!

Leave a Reply

