Plank Again

When I was writing this in my head, I had a really good, thought-provoking, blog title all picked out.  But when I sat down to actually write it out, guess what happened?  The title was mysteriously missing.

When the clock strikes midnight on December 31st, it is as if the new year is a blank page staring you in the face.  A chance to start over, if you will.  And to do that, often you may make resolutions of some sort.  A way to make yourself better.  I’m not a huge fan of New Year’s resolutions.  I do like goals, and I like lists.  I really like checking things off of lists.  But for some reason, making New Year’s resolutions has not struck a chord with me.  Maybe it goes hand in hand with not being a big fan of the New Year’s holiday to begin with.  All the hype, and for what?

However, I was reflecting on the upcoming year and what I wanted out of it.  I was, in part, motivated by Ali Edwards’ One Little Word where you choose a word for the year and it is basically your theme.  I have two words this year, one being strength.  (The other is peace which I will explore at a later date.)

Strength is such a multi-faceted word (and multi-faceted is an inside joke at work – basically a fancy way of saying we took all sorts of different pieces into our analysis).  Physical strength is at the forefront of what I want to work on in 2013.  Build (or rebuild) up my core strength.  Incorporate weight training into my routine.  Improve my physical strength overall.

But I also want to work on other aspects of strength – spiritually, emotionally, and mentally.  I don’t know what that looks like yet.  Maybe actually finishing my one-year Bible!  And then there is the accepting strength – not only accepting that I am strong, but being able to accept strength from others.  This is still a work in process.  Who knows what it will look like at the end of the year?

As part of my quest in 2013 towards physical strength, I decided to start working planks into my daily habit.  It had been awhile since I had (on purpose) done any planks and I knew I had lost steam.  What I didn’t realize was how much.  Guess how long I held my plank?  Ten seconds.  Ten measly, stinking seconds before I collapsed onto the ground.  Wow.  I gave myself some half-hearted excuses before realizing that this is just the beginning.  2013 is blank.  Ten seconds is only a starting point.  Next it’ll be eleven seconds.  And then twelve, and maybe even twenty.  Soon it will be thirty and forty-five.  This is only the beginning.

This entry was posted in one little word and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Plank Again

  1. Abby says:

    I always write amazing blogs in my head on long runs. Then I conveniently forget them as soon as I sit in front of the computer.

    Congrats on the planking! I hate it, but I should do it too. 10 seconds is seriously a great beginning 🙂

    • Emily says:

      Thanks!! I know – what is it about coming up with great things to write while running and then never being able to actually put it on paper?

  2. dnardi710 says:

    I really should start working planks in to my daily routine…maybe I’ll do a little personal plank-a-day challenge in February and work on it. Good luck…looking forward to hearing how it goes!

Leave a Reply

