Run #1.2 Frost, Wind & Ice

I was dreading this run.  Not only were the temperatures predicted to be quite low, but I hadn’t done anything since my last run, unless you count the 30 second jumping jack parties and the plank a day I have been doing in order to get the blood flowing after sitting for hours on end in front of a computer.

I bundled up and set off for the park.  Gloves, hat, several layers – check.  While I felt like I was ready to go, my legs decided not to show up.  The first several miles were miserable.  So much so that I gave up on my 2/1 intervals and started doing 1 minute / 30 second walk/run intervals.

I had left the paved trail at this point, and was on the packed gravel trail.  The sun was shining and I was running along the lake – it was a beautiful sight when I could see it!  The sun was somewhat in my eyes and I was very glad I had brought along my sunglasses.

Finally my legs showed up.  I don’t know if it was getting back on the pavement or if I just needed that much time to wake up.

Although my legs showed up, I was still feeling miserable and started bargaining with myself.  I can go 11 miles, only 11 (I had 12 scheduled).  And then it was 10 miles.  You can do 10 miles.  1o miles is enough.  I did 11 miles last weekend.  And to quote myself “this isn’t my first rodeo.”

I kept going.  And going.  Until my Garmin clicked to 12 miles.  Hallelujah!!

This time next week I will (hopefully) be sporting a brand new medal.

Along the Sammamish River trail

Along the Sammamish River trail

Yay!!  Take that 12 miles

Yay!! Take that 12 miles

 

This entry was posted in training. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Run #1.2 Frost, Wind & Ice

  1. kebe51 says:

    Great job on pushing through and not quitting!

Leave a Reply

