Run #4.1 Nike Women’s 10K

Friday morning I got an email telling me I had a second chance to enter the inaugural Nike Women’s Half in DC.  Yahoo!!  I did hesitate for a moment or three before realizing I would cry if I didn’t sign up when I had the chance.  I read the email really quickly and thought I needed to sign up for the 10K (virtual race happening this weekend) in order to sign up for the half so I did.  (Although, even after I re-read the email several times, I still wasn’t completely sure if I actually needed to sign up for the 10K or not.)  Either way, I was signed up and it was good motivation to get out there.  Not to mention I’m IN!  I’m IN!!  Now comes the fun part of hotel and airline reservations…  I have a feeling this is going to end up being an expensive trip.

Sunday morning a little too early due to springing ahead.  I think I hit my snooze button a few too many times.  But finally I was up and my shoes were laced.  Off to the neighborhood park I went.  I knew it would require several circles, but it was close and I knew the bathroom would be open.

For as beautiful as yesterday was, today was supposed to be rainy.  While it was overcast and chilly, it was not rainy!!  There was a slight mist which I was totally fine with.

I knew this choice would mean hills, which isn’t necessarily a bad thing.  What I had counted on was all the cross walks and waiting for the walk sign.  Since I still am not 100%, I was actually happy about waiting for the walk signs!  Ha!

I finished my 6.2 and headed back to my car.  Just as I got in, it started raining!  Hooray for beating the rain!!  And hooray for second chances to get into the Nike Women’s Half DC!

Lake Boren Park

Lake Boren Park

Almost done

Almost done

 

This entry was posted in training and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Run #4.1 Nike Women’s 10K

  1. Abby says:

    Congrats! I’m glad someone I know got in! Sadly, I had to pass it up. Can’t wait to hear all about the race and see the beautiful “medal”!

  2. kebe51 says:

    When is the half? I’ve wanted to do the Cherry Blossom run in DC, but I hear it’s difficult to do. I imagine/hope that the half is similar in route and timing for you, it should be beautiful and amazing!

    • Emily says:

      It is on April 28th. Yikes!! That’ll be here before I know it. I would love to do the Cherry Blossom run – but it is at a bad time for work purposes. Hopefully the cherry blossoms will still be out! 🙂

Leave a Reply

