Run #4.2 Mercer Island 10K and Then Some

I think I’ve mentioned before that I really don’t like running that much.  I love races!!  Races motivate me to actually get off my couch and do something.  Which is probably why I sign up for so many races.  Because I’d much rather get up early to run if it is for a race.  In my book, running with other people, fantastic volunteers, and water stops beats running myself any day.

Earlier this week I finally wrote out my Nike Women’s Half DC plan.  This weekend called for 9 miles.  It was as if the Mercer Island Half sensed my reluctance to run by myself and sent me an email letting me know I could still sign up.  I thought about it for half a second, and then half a second more before signing up.  But for the 10K.

The race started at 8:30 which meant I could totally sneak in 3 miles before the race.  Plus that would give me a good reason to get there early to get a good parking spot!

The weather the past few days has been very spring-like as in beautiful sun, monsoon type rains, hail and even snow.  Oh yes, it has been quite lovely.  Although the glimpses of sun have been fantastic.  Which left the all important what to wear question?  (I think the temp per my car was around 30 some odd degrees this morning!)  The answer – undershirt, shirt, jacket and gloves.  Brr!!

Driving over, the sun was coming up, bathing the sky in beautiful shades of pink.

One of the reasons I hesitated slightly before signing up is this course is hilly.  In fact, Mercer Island in general is hilly.  You can’t avoid the hills, even if you try!

I started off on the back half the course as that would take me by the real bathroom.

I was feeling good, and I thought I was moving along nicely until I looked at my Garmin.  Yeah, apparently I wasn’t.  Oh well, I wasn’t that far off my pace, but it wasn’t near what I felt like.

Seen on my run

Seen on my run

Up the hill, down the hill, up the hill and down the hill and back towards my car.

As I headed towards my car, there were a lot more people walking towards the start line. I panicked momentarily thinking I was much later than I was, but no, I had timed this fairly well.

I changed shirts and reapplied chapstick.  My hands were feeling warm so I ditched the gloves.  Of course, the reason my hands were warm was because I was wearing gloves but that didn’t dawn on me until later, when my hands were cold and I was far away from my car.  The sun was making itself known so I had planned to grab sunglasses, but my sunglasses were nowhere to be found so I grabbed a hat.

Ready to run

Ready to run

I made my way to the start line and soon we were off!  The course had changed slightly from the last time I ran it and the first part took us through Luther Burbank park.   It was fairly crowded through the park but once we got on the street, it thinned out.

Waiting patiently for the start

Waiting patiently for the start

We reached the first turn-around and started back up the hill and were treated to view of the half marathon which had just started.  It was a mass of humanity running towards us. I saw a couple in costume as Bruce (fish are friends, not food) and Nemo.  Love!!

Up the hill, down the hill.  I was keeping up with my intervals, even on the hills.

At one point I looked at my watch and realized I *might* be able to PR.  But it would be tight and I would need to step it up.  Of course, this was right before a big hill.

Up the hill, down the hill, and down the straightaway and up the last hill before sprinting down the last hill.

No PR, but it was still a great race.

Hm, I should see if there are any races next weekend!

Done!

Done!

This entry was posted in Race Report, training and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Run #4.2 Mercer Island 10K and Then Some

  1. msposko says:

    I know what you mean about races and running. If I don’t have a race sometime in the near future, I find it near impossible to get myself out the door to train/run. Sounds like you had fun at your race and cute skirt! 🙂

  2. kebe51 says:

    I’m the same way about running. I actually (usually) don’t like running, but I love doing the races, or I love the feeling I have when I’ve had a good run. But, I usually make more excuses why I “can’t” run when I’m not signed up for a race. I’m working on it though.

    Congrats on getting out there and finishing another race!

  3. Abby says:

    Love the skirt! Sorry about all the hills.

    • Emily says:

      Thanks!! Ha, while I do try to avoid hills, living in Seattle really doesn’t lend itself to flat. Although I do surprise myself with the number of routes that I have found that are fairly flat. This one actually wasn’t too bad because it really was rolling hills for the most part.

Leave a Reply

