Run #4.4 What happened to the music?

Apparently my iPod is mad at me for something.  First, it malfunctioned during the Princess Half (Although maybe, just maybe, that had something to do with operator error? Nah!  Definitely not operator error! 🙂 ) and then this morning it was absolutely dead.  I did not discover this fact until I was about to set off on my 11 mile journey.  Earlier in the week I did have a passing thought to check the charge level but since I had just charged it and used it last weekend I thought I was safe.  Well you know what they say about assumptions.

I had fairly low expectations for this run to begin with.  We are once again in the midst of our busy time at work which means several things – I’m not getting enough sleep, I’m not eating right and I’m really not doing much in the way of working out.  (Although I am following along with Carissa’s #AbApril challenge as I can generally squeeze that in.)  It is what it is.  And thankfully, the crazy crunch time usually only lasts about two weeks or so.

Finding my dead iPod did accelerate the spiral of doom this run was becoming.  But then I strapped on my Garmin (which thankfully was still working) and started off.

Not having music to distract me, I was able to listen to my breathing and the loud cars around me.  Since I was off to work after my run,  I started at Mercer Island and went across the bridge.  I never properly appreciated how my iPod at least dulled the freeway noise.

I do have to say, even with the auspicious beginning, the weather was fairly perfect – definitely on the windy side – but give me overcast, no rain, and in the high 40’s temp wise any day of the week.

I made it across the bridge and was given the decision of right or left.  Last time I went right.  This time I went left.

Right around Mile 4 I came across a beautiful flowering tree by a little marina (not sure if it was actually a “true” marina but that is the only way I know how to describe it).  Unfortunately for you, I didn’t have my phone with me so you’ll have to take my word for it about how beautiful it was, stretching across the sidewalk with the water and the marina in the background.

I wound my way through neighborhoods before turning around and heading back to the bridge.

The end of the bridge is a series of three almost continuous hills.  I attempted my intervals on the first hill but by the time I got to the second hill I was done with intervals and walked up to the top of the third hill.  From there it was smooth sailing back to my car.

While I survived 11 miles with no music, I’m not sure I could do that on a regular basis.  I need the music to, if nothing else, distract me from the fact I’m running!

11 Miles - Check!

11 Miles – Check!

This entry was posted in training. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Run #4.4 What happened to the music?

  1. Karen :0) says:

    11 miles is hard to run without music and by yourself! Great job!! :0)

  2. kebe51 says:

    OMG I don’t know how you managed it again! Congrats on your ability to push through and finish your run. Maybe in the future you should consider having a back-up ipod…just in case 😉

Leave a Reply

