Oh Hail! Tiptoe Through the 2013 Tulips

April is proving to be one jam-packed month.  While the weather forecast for this weekend looked very doom and gloom, it was the only weekend I could squeeze in a trip to see my tulip friends.  Seeing the tulips is truly a highlight of my April.  I am always amazed at the amazing carpet of colors.

A carpet of colors

A carpet of colors

Even though most of the week the forecast for the weekend was calling for rain, it is the spring, and so the weather is even more temperamental than normal.  Perhaps I would luck out with sun?

Alas, that was not the case.  The rain was fairly steady on the drive up to Skagit Valley.  I stopped at a colorful looking field.  The rain had slowed down.

How many pictures can one person take of flowers?  Oh you’d be surprised.  I snapped picture after picture, carefully navigating the extremely muddy and slippery walkways.

Tulip feet pic

Tulip feet pic

I had mostly made my way around the field when the rain started coming down.  I finished up and said goodbye to the tulips.  Once in my car I decided that I had seen lots of colors so maybe one field was enough this year.

I saw yellow.

Yellow Tulips

Yelling Yellow

I saw red.

Raring Red

Raring Red

I saw purple.

Plethora of Purple

Plethora of Purple

And a few multicolored ones.

Amazing Race Tulip?

Amazing Race Tulip?

So I left.  I hadn’t gone to far when it started hailing.  Yes, hailing.  This reaffirmed my decision to head back home.  Of course, once I got back to the main road the weather cleared and the sun came out.  I thought briefly about turning around but kept on.

Enjoy some of my favorites from this year!

Tiptoe through the tulips

Tiptoe through the tulips

More tulips

More tulips

Even more tulips

Even more tulips

And a few more

And a few more

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Oh Hail! Tiptoe Through the 2013 Tulips

  1. Karen :0) says:

    Absolutely beautiful!!! I would love to visit this place! It’s breathtaking!

    • Emily says:

      It is absolutely amazing!! If you ever get a chance to visit, I would highly recommend it. It blows me away each and every year I visit.

  2. Abby says:

    So beautiful! Glad you got to squeeze in your trip.

Leave a Reply

