Run #4.5 I Will Not Cry

I’ll be honest, I was a little worried about the weather given yesterday’s barrage of rain, hail, and then finally sun.  Weather turned out to be the least of my worries.  In fact, the weather was the best part of today’s run!

It started off overcast, with some very ominous looking clouds.  Midway through the sun came out!  It is amazing what a good dose of sunshine can do for you!  When it was all said and done, I got in my car just as it started hailing.  How’s that for timing?

Weather aside, let’s get to the run portion.  Considering I had just finished another long week filled with everything but sleep, I wasn’t expecting a fantastic run.

I started off at Marymoor, heading towards the back part of the park.  My legs felt a little sluggish, but overall I was feeling okay.  A few people passed me wearing WDW Marathon and Half Marathon shirts which put a huge smile on my face.

Dark clouds

Dark clouds

On my way back to the front of the park. I passed by a big empty parking lot.  Deciding it was time for a little fun, I made my way down on one aisle and back up.  I did this a few times, snaking my way through the makeshift parking lots.

Snaking through the parking lot

Snaking through the parking lot

I passed by my car and started on the Sammamish River Trail.  It was around here that the pain in my right hip/leg started acting up.  I pushed through until I couldn’t.  Hoping a walk break would help, I took an extended walk interval.  It helped somewhat.

Running along the river

Running along the river

I started running again, but flipped the intervals so I was running 1 minute and walking 2 minutes.

The pain would not go away.  It was around one mile left where I was so close to crying.  But I didn’t.  It was also around this time that Mandisa’s Stronger came on my iPod.  The pain ain’t going to last forever, and things can only get better.  I held on to those lyrics.

One mile left.  You’ve got this.  Crawl if you have to.  I did remain upright and finished.  I was so thankful it was over.

Almost done

Almost done

Whenever I have horrific runs, such as this one, I think at least it is out of the way and not on race day.

I spent the rest of the day with a combination of Tiger Balm, Biofreeze, Salan pas, ice packs and compression socks.

Here is to the next run, which will be better.

This entry was posted in training. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Run #4.5 I Will Not Cry

  1. kebe51 says:

    I know how hard it is pushing through those “bad” runs. Great job on finishing and way to stay positive about your next run. I think I need to borrow your optimism! 🙂

  2. Karen :0) says:

    ((Hugs)) Mandisa’s Stronger is what helped me through a rough patch with an ITBand issue last year. Actually, that entire album was amazing and very therapeutic for me. Way to stick with your run and finish!! Great job!

  3. the hard runs we push through always make the runs that actually feel good so much better! Way to power through!

  4. Abby says:

    So sad to hear about a painful run 😦 RICE RICE RICE!!

Leave a Reply

