No Words

Honestly there is nothing I can say.

Yesterday was an unspeakable, senseless tragedy.  Yet out of tragedy, we rise.  We rise as a nation, as a people, and as runners.  I am continually amazed at the running community.  The sense of community and camaraderie that exists – the smile, the nod, the wave from a fellow runner out pounding the pavement.

The fact that this took place at the finish line, makes me angry.  There is so much that goes into training that culminates at finish line – I feel that the finish line is such an honored place.  To attack the finish line and take away the joy and celebration of what was probably a dream come true for so many runners is something that I cannot comprehend.  To attack spectators, who were there cheering on loved ones, is something that I cannot comprehend.

What do we do?  Everyone processes, grieves, and mourns in their own way.  What I am doing is praying.  What I am doing is wearing a race shirt today (under a sweater) to show solidarity.  What I am doing is signing up for another race that I was on the fence about.  They will not turn the finish line into a place of fear for me.

Prayers and peace to Boston.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to No Words

  1. Karen :0) says:

    Such an unfathomable event…the finish line. After years of hard work and training…so wrong and incredibly sad. I’m doing the same as you today…wearing a race shirt and running this afternoon.

    • Emily says:

      So true. Such a tragedy but yet we will triumph again, every time we lace up and run we will remember and we will not let them defeat us.

  2. kebe51 says:

    I wore my race shirt to work yesterday (my boss understood) and today I am wearing blue and yellow. They choose the timing and location deliberately because they knew the impact it would have…but they won’t win, because we won’t stop running and will not stop supporting each other as we do it.

    • Emily says:

      Yes – they will not win. They cannot win. It is so heart warming (and heart wrenching) to read about all the people who stepped forward to help in whatever capacity they could.

Leave a Reply

