Run #4.6 Last Stop Before DC

Not only was it my last “long” run before DC, but it was my last run before hopping on a plane!  Since I was spending the weekend in Houston, I snuck in a run before heading to the airport.

My original plan had been to get 10 miles in, however when I woke up I was distracted by the happenings in Boston and since I was on a definite time schedule, I decided to cut it short by a mile.

I headed to Mercer Island, which was the site of my non-musical run a few weeks prior.

It was overcast and slightly misty – perfect running weather!  And I must say this was much better than last week’s.  My right hip/ITB/knee did ache somewhat, but nowhere near as bad as it had during my previous run.

The only problem with this route on a weekday is I didn’t fully comprehend the amount of traffic on the bridge.  It was loud and smelly, but I made it across.  I turned right, and ran along the lake until it was time to turn around.

Back up the stairs, across the bridge and up the never-ending hill (which is really three hills in quick succession until I reached my car.  Nine miles in the books!

I made it to the airport and spent a super fun, if super quick, weekend in Houston with Jana where we ate at Chuy’s (yum!!), went to the zoo, and had dinner with a few other friends and spent some quality time together.  It is weekends like these that make me realize how much I value our friendship and I am so glad we have been able to keep in touch when I moved back to Seattle.

Too funny!

Too funny!

Fun at the zoo

Fun at the zoo

Until next time

Until next time

This entry was posted in training. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Run #4.6 Last Stop Before DC

  1. Abby says:

    Good for you getting a run in before going to the airport!

    I’m so jealous you went to Chuy’s! Love it.

    • Emily says:

      Oh my gosh!! I love Chuy’s!! I really just need to figure out their creamy jalepeno recipe and I would be a happy camper!

  2. kebe51 says:

    Great getting the run in before your trip! And good luck with your half marathon, I’m sure you’ll do great! 🙂

  3. Karen :0) says:

    Sounds like a really fun weekend! Great run, too! :0)

Leave a Reply

