Nike Women’s DC Half 2013: Part I

Wow, what a whirlwind of a trip!  My adventure started very early Friday morning, after a slight delay.  While I’m not a fan of delays, mine was only 40 minutes, which isn’t bad considering.

After arriving, I found my shuttle and was on my way to the hotel.   As we got closer in, I was treated to views of the Washington Monument and the Lincoln Memorial.  It was really amazing to see these places that previously I had only seen on TV, in pictures, and in movies!

Once I checked in, I thought briefly about finding something to eat and calling it a night, but instead I decided to shake out my legs after such a long flight.  I attempted to orient myself and set off towards the White House.

I made it to the White House and gathered with the many tourists as we gazed upon the home of our President.

At the White House

At the White House

I wandered a little further up towards the statue of Andrew Jackson (Andy Jackson is our president now – 10 points if you can name that show).  I’ve noticed that over the years people in paintings and sculptures can become familiar – you see enough pictures of a historical person you will start recognizing them.  As in, I walked up to this statue and immediately knew it was Andrew Jackson, before I saw the sign confirming the statue’s identity.

Andrew Jackson

Andrew Jackson

It was starting to get dark, but the Washington Monument was beckoning to me.  It couldn’t be that far, could it?  Oh yes it could.  But I made it just as daylight was fading.

Washington Monument

Washington Monument

The Jefferson Memorial was now twinkling at me.  To go or not to go…  I decided to at least get close enough to take a picture.  And then it was time find the metro.

Jefferson Memorial

Jefferson Memorial

I still hadn’t eaten at this point.  My hunger was warring with my tiredness.  I found a pizza place close to my hotel.  While I don’t mind eating by myself, my tiredness was winning out and I didn’t relish waiting to get a table so to-go it was.   I finished up the night eating pizza in my hotel room.  (Foreshadowing: this would be my dinner all three nights.  Have I mentioned that I am a creature of habit?)

Stay tuned for the next installment.

This entry was posted in Race Report, Race the States, Travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Nike Women’s DC Half 2013: Part I

  1. Abby says:

    Glad you got sightseeing in! That picture of the Jefferson Memorial is gorgeous.

Leave a Reply

