Nike Women’s Half DC 2013: Part II

When last we spoke, I had retired for the night.  To show you how unprepared I was for this trip, I had no travel book.  I felt so lost without a book!  Fortunately when I went out exploring the night before I found a bookstore and picked up a DC book.  Thanks to the book and your suggestions, I had a loose idea of what I wanted to do.

I hadn’t gotten to bed as early as I had wanted to which translated into not being up as early as I planned.  My original plan for the day was to start at the Holocaust Museum and then head over the Natural History Museum and the American History Museum depending on time.

One thing I learned very quickly was that jaywalking is quite prevalent in DC.  It took a bit before I caught on to the rhythm but then I joined in.  When in Rome after all.  Although it goes against my very Seattlite nature.  Seattlites, in general, do not jaywalk.  It will be pouring rain, with no cars in sight and most likely you will see a Seattlite waiting for the walk signal.  (I might be exaggerating slightly!)

By the time I arrived at the museum, the line for day of tickets was ridiculously long.  Deciding my time was better spent elsewhere, I headed inside to see the exhibits available to the public.  The children’s exhibit was amazing, following a boy’s journey from pre-war through the changes culminating in his being moved to Auschwitz.

After walking through the museum, I stepped outside to such a beautiful day.  I changed my plans and decided to walk through the different memorials instead of going back inside to a museum to take advantage of the gorgeous weather.

My “tour de monuments” took me once again by the Washington Monument and towards the Jefferson Memorial.  The trees were mostly bare of cherry blossoms, but I did finally spy one or two peering at me through the branches.  Seeing the cherry blossoms in DC is on my life list, which is yet another reason to come back.

A few cherry blossoms left

A few cherry blossoms left

The walk was beautiful and as I walked up to the Jefferson Memorial I could hear the strains of a band starting to play.

Jefferson Memorial

Jefferson Memorial

From the Jefferson Memorial I continued on to the FDR Memorial, the Martin Luther King Memorial, the WWII Memorial and finally the Vietnam Memorial before heading up the (steep) stairs to the Lincoln Memorial.  Whew!!

FDR Memorial

FDR Memorial

MLK Memorial

MLK Memorial

WWII Memorial

WWII Memorial

Vietnam Memorial

Vietnam Memorial

All the memorials and monuments were very moving and emotional in different ways.  Seeing the statue of Lincoln towering above was amazing.  And looking out towards the Washington Monument  – what a spectacular view!

Lincoln Memorial

Lincoln Memorial

Reflecting Pool

Reflecting Pool

My monument tour was at an end and I started the trek towards packet pick-up.

I reached packet pick-up to find a line.  The line actually moved fairly quickly and 30 minutes later, I had my number in hand and then it was on to the expotique.  The expo was slightly on the small side, vendors-wise.  Although they did have Bare Minerals giving make-overs and Paul Mitchell doing hair which was really fun.  I thought for sure I had missed the merchandise and circled around again but no, it was located up the block at the Georgetown Nike store.

Sign outside expo

Sign outside expo

After my hair & makeup were done at the expo

After my hair & makeup were done at the expo

On the side of the store was a “hall of fame” wall with the names of all the participants.  It was really cool to see.

Inside the store was a madhouse, but there was race merchandise.  Unfortunately, by not going until the last day of the expo, and fairly late at that, the merchandise was fairly picked over.  And the larger sizes were gone – they still had tons of mediums and smalls.  I asked if this was all and what sizes they did have and was told that the largest they had was a large.  Well there you go.  I ended up buying a hat so at least I’d have something.  I debated on a bag but decided against it (although later when I saw several people at the airport with their bags I sort of wished I had gotten one).

Remember the two cupcake places that were on my list?  Finished up with all my expo stuff, I headed a few blocks down to Georgetown Cupcake to be greeted with a rather long line.  The cupcakes might have been worth it, but I was fast losing patience and skipped Georgetown Cupcake.

Instead, I headed back to Baked & Wired, which had a much more manageable line.  It was a hard decision but I ended up with a flapjack cupcake – maple butter cream with bacon on top.  This was to be my reward after the race.

I would have loved to explore Georgetown a little more but I knew I still had a trek back to my hotel and I wanted to try to be in bed at a decent time so I started back towards the metro.

Walking around Georgetown

Walking around Georgetown

I stopped off at the pizza place once again and once again got it to go and ate the pizza in the comfort of my hotel room while laying out my race kit for the next morning.  Am I a party animal or what?

Stay tuned for the next installment!

This entry was posted in Race Report, Race the States, Travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Nike Women’s Half DC 2013: Part II

  1. kebe51 says:

    You can always spot the tourists in NYC by who’s waiting at the corner for the light to change lol.
    Anyway, looks like an amazing (action pack) trip so far! Love the pictures(including from the previous post)! Sorry you missed out on the merchandise (I’m still upset I didn’t get a jacket at the W&D), but at least you got to see some Cherry Blossoms, YAY! Can’t wait to see how the race went 🙂

    • Emily says:

      There is so much to do there!! I generally go all out on vacations – I tried not to overdo it this time (because of the race) but still see a lot. Apparently the moral of the story is – if you think you might want it, go ahead and buy it! Ha!

  2. Whew, that was a lot of walking around the monuments! I normally run that route, ha. The Jefferson is my favorite memorial. I think it’s so pretty on the water.

Leave a Reply

