Run #6.1 Beat the Bridge Fail

Beat the Bridge is a race that I have had my eye on for a while now.  It is an 8K.  About 2 miles in, you cross a drawbridge.  The bridge is raised approximately 20 minutes after the last person crosses the start line.  The goal is to beat the raising of the bridge.  If you don’t, no worries – it takes a few minutes but then you can continue on your way.

Going into it, I couldn’t decide what I thought about the bridge.  I had an internal debate/struggle going on.  I am not fast, so should I have any expectations to beat the bridge?  But if I start in one of the earlier waves, maybe there is a shot?  There were a lot of what ifs flying through my mind, but in the end all I could do was run my race and do my best.

Besides which, before I could even start the race I needed to knock out a few miles.  I arrived early, parked, and headed out for three quick miles before the race.  I was feeling good, if a bit congested with the amount of cottonseed floating around.

Back from my three miles, I was able to quickly change my shirt, use the real bathroom, and get a picture made!

Before the start

Before the start

I watched the first few waves, before jumping into the mix.  Down Montlake we went, across the Montlake Bridge.  I watched my steps across the bridge, but I made it without slipping or tripping!

Through a residential area we went.  I heard a few “Go Huskies”, “Go UDub”, “Love the outfit” from the spectators as I passed by.  Knowing the race started outside Hec Ed and finished on the practice field, I chose my outfit carefully to represent my beloved Huskies.  #bepurplegogold

Go Dawgs!

Go Dawgs!

And there it was!  The Mile 2 sign!!  Just around the corner was the bridge!  I turned the corner and saw the bridge was still down.  Hope built up in me and I realized that I really wanted to Beat the Bridge!  As I got closer, the volunteers stepped out in the road to stop people.  I missed beating the bridge by mere seconds!  I could have been like the cheaters who ignored the volunteers and ran around them, but what was that going to accomplish?  I waited and took a few pictures while the bridge was raised and lowered.

There goes the bridge

There goes the bridge

It was only a few minute delay (Darn!  I should have timed it!) before we were off again!

Waiting for the bridge to lower

Waiting for the bridge to lower

The rest of the race was fairly anticlimactic.  Soon we were heading down Montlake again before winding our way towards the practice field.  It would have been way cooler to finish in Husky Stadium, but finishing on the practice field was still pretty cool.

My time you ask?  Why it was 1:02.53 – which is only a minute off my PR.  I take that to mean if I had made the stupid bridge, I would have PR’d this distance.  Nice!!

Done!

Done!

Leaning Tower of Banana Peels

Leaning Tower of Banana Peels

This entry was posted in Race Report, training and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Run #6.1 Beat the Bridge Fail

  1. msposko says:

    The concept of this race sounds like a fun challenge. Loving your color combo! Go Dawgs! 🙂

    • Emily says:

      Purple has always been a favorite of mine anyway so of course its fitting that my fave team sports purple & gold! 🙂

  2. kebe51 says:

    That sounds like a great race concept! Sorry you just missed the bridge! You’ll get them next time! 🙂

    btw, LOVE the banana picture

  3. Karen :0) says:

    What a fun race!! Congrats and great job! Sorry you didn’t beat the bridge but sounds like you still had fun anyway!

  4. Abby says:

    Congrats on your possible PR!! Sounds like it was fun! Wish we had something like that here.

  5. Another cool race! 🙂 You are a rock star!

  6. dnardi710 says:

    I love this Beat the Bridge idea, so much fun! I really need to keep an eye out for fun things like this.

Leave a Reply

