Run #6.2 Through the Mists

I keep forgetting that I have another race coming up in about a month.  I have been having a hard time with motivation lately, even with a race on the schedule.  I am not the only one lacking in motivation as a few of us at work started a workout motivation / competition.  It’s fairly simple in its design – workout 3 times a week for at least 30 minutes in duration or pay into the pot.  The money factor definitely adds motivation! 🙂  Plus checking each workout off the chart is satisfying as well.  The competition has gotten me back to yoga more regularly and has motivated me to start running in the morning at least one or two days week.

But back to today.  I had plans to meet up with my sis & BIL for a late breakfast which meant an early morning start.  I slowly got out of bed and made my way to Mercer Island.

It was gray, cloudy and misty.  Basically perfect running weather!  I made sure to grab my hat and I set off.

Normally, I go right out of the parking lot, but I decided this time to go left.  I knew it would add more hills, which isn’t necessarily a bad thing.

By going left I was able to pick up a few miles before circling back past my car.

Since it was Sunday morning, the bridge was fairly clear.  Not as many cars equals reduced noise and reduced exhaust fumes!  And a much happier Emily.

The mist turned into a more steady drizzle.  My shoes and socks were slowly becoming waterlogged.

I got to my “favorite” section of hills (three hills linked together).  Halfway up the second hill I turned around and walked backwards for awhile.  Fortunately there weren’t too many people around to see me walking backwards!

I finished up and headed back to my waiting car.  And just like that 10 miles in the books! Plus another check mark on the weekly workout schedule!

View looking towards I90

View looking towards I90

Obligatory (wet) feet pic!

Obligatory (wet) feet pic!

This entry was posted in training and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Run #6.2 Through the Mists

  1. Jaime says:

    I live in the desert, so we get excited over clouds here. Lol! Good job on your run!

  2. Abby says:

    Nice! I can hardly get 4 in nowadays! You rock.

  3. Karen :0) says:

    Great job!! Love running in the rain/mist…it’s a nice change sometimes!

  4. kebe51 says:

    That’s awesome! I have felt so out of it motivation-wise (my next BIG race isn’t until Dumbo). Between the humidity and the wedding fast approaching, me getting out and doing a run has been near impossible. Way to snap out of it and get in 10 miles! So proud!

    Btw, totally stealing that workout pool idea!

Leave a Reply

