Run #6.3 and a Week in Review

Thanks for all the encouragement on my upcoming move to St. Louis.  One of the hardest parts of this process was giving notice at my current job.  I woke up the next morning and texted a friend “I just had a nightmare I quit my job.”

So instead of just posting about my long run of the week, I’m going to jump on the weekly workout round-up wagon to hopefully find my lost motivation.  Plus, this way I can see what I actually do during the week, rather than what I *think* I do.

Monday – hot yoga (65 min hatha)

Tuesday –  2.5 mile early morning run

Wednesday – 1.75 mile walk after work

Thursday – nothing

Friday – 2.5 mile early morning run

Saturday – hot yoga (65 min hatha)

Sunday – 11 mile run (with some hiking thrown in)

Well, okay.  That wasn’t as bad as I thought.  In another attempt to mix things up, I tried a new to me trail.  My original thought was to run around the Mercer Slough.  I got a late start but as it was the only day I could sleep in, I decided the heat I would deal with would be worth the extra sleep.  It was even a later start than I anticipated but finally I parked and set off.  I went from a paved trail to gravel to a wooden bridge and back to a paved trail.

2013_06 Bellevue 1

I was following the blue trail signs (which were very helpful).

Which way do I go?

Which way do I go?

I got to a crossroads and rather than loop completely around the slough, I decided to head in another direction to help me get in all my requisite miles without looping around the slough twice.

Little did I know this was going to turn into a hike!

Kelsey Creek Park

Kelsey Creek Park

I continued on the trail up and down hills for a little while (mostly walking) before realizing that this could potentially be a very bad idea if I slipped and fell so I turned around.

I needed to find another 2 miles and followed a side path, which would turn out to be a very long uphill.  Of course the good news was that it turned into a very long downhill!  Woot!  For whatever reason, the downhill didn’t seem nearly as long as the uphill.  Go figure! 🙂

Almost at the top

Almost at the top

It was definitely getting hot out by this time.  But fortunately I was back in the more shaded part of the trail.

I probably walked a good deal of the last mile.  The gravel was bothering me.  This was by far not my fastest outing.  But the more important thing is I got 11 miles in!

This entry was posted in training. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Run #6.3 and a Week in Review

  1. Abby says:

    See? When you put what you did all week, it looks like more! Hope we all get our mojo for running back soon!

  2. Karen :0) says:

    Way to get in a new route! Sounds and looks like a pretty one despite the hike! :0)

  3. dnardi710 says:

    11 miles with part of it hiking…go you! That must have been quite the workout!

    • Emily says:

      It definitely was!! I do enjoy hiking, but more so when I can take the time and admire the scenery around me.

Leave a Reply

