2013 Seattle Rock ‘N’ Roll Half Marathon

I’ve dubbed this race my farewell tour of Seattle.  Not that it is my last race ever in Seattle, but it is the last race with Seattle being my current residence.  (I almost put hometown, but the truth is Seattle will always be my hometown).

With me being extremely short on time, I rushed to the expo Friday afternoon and basically was in and out.  Which my wallet was happy about.

I got my nails done, but the color wasn’t exactly what I thought it was going to be and so didn’t quite match my planned Team Sparkle skirt.  Fortunately I have several (and by several I mean a rainbow) of Team Sparkle skirts.  Originally I was going to wear my teal skirt but my nails perfectly matched my turquoise skirt, so turquoise it was.

Waiting for the start

Waiting for the start

I arrived downtown bright and early and took the monorail over to the Seattle Center.  I had suckered myself into buying the upgraded “perks” pass so I could use the private restroom area and bag check.  Of course I forgot that there is a plethora of real bathrooms.  While I don’t know that I would purchase it again, it was nice to have a place to sit down and relax while waiting to start.

I learned from last time and waited near the start line for my corral to make its way to the start.  Plus then I could more easily use the bathroom one last time.

And then it was time!!  Corral 40 was next up!  I hopped into the corral and we were off!

At the start line

At the start line

The course was changed slightly from last year and we started off down 5th Avenue.

The sun was out in force.  By in force I mean it was in the high 60’s heading towards the 70’s.  Yes I am a weather wimp.  And I’m starting to have doubts about this whole moving to Missouri thing.

From downtown we wound our way down Rainier Avenue.  I really enjoyed this stretch as the view of Mt. Rainier was gorgeous (but not camera friendly) and there were shady patches and a fantastic breeze.

Along Lake Washington

Along Lake Washington

The course turned onto Genesee, which avoided the ridiculous hill from last year.  And then we were on Lake Washington Boulevard.  And it was here that I was surprised to see a couple of my friends standing on the sidelines cheering my name.  My spirits were instantly lifted!!  I was so surprised I didn’t do much other than wave at them.  If I had it to do over again, I would have stopped for a second, but I was so focused that I just kept going.

Rocker - near 10K mark

Rocker – near 10K mark

And then we were on the “Wear Blue to Remember” section of the course.  Volunteers were lining the course with American flags.  Tears welled up in my eyes.

Run to remember

Run to remember

Next up was my nemesis hill from my triathlon days.  It was still a rough hill but finally I was on the bridge and in the tunnel.

It was sometime after the tunnel where things started to unravel.  I hit Mile 10 and looked at my watch.  Now if I did my race math correctly (which, let’s face it, race math is not my strongest suit) I had the potential to PR and come close to my elusive goal of 2:45.  (I’ll let you in on a secret – I didn’t do either.)

I’m honestly not sure what happened.  I thought I was keeping my pace, for the most part.    But numbers don’t lie.  I swear the faster I tried to go, the slower I actually went.  Maybe it was the sun, maybe it was the fast start, maybe I was dehydrated (although I stopped at every single water stop – maybe I was over-hydrated), or maybe I got zapped by an alien slow ray.  I really don’t know.

I don’t want to say I collapsed, as I was still moving forward and ended up finishing right around my normal finish time.  But maybe I hit a wall?  I really can’t explain it.

Time aside, the views were beautiful!  The sky was blue and the sun was out.  On to the viaduct we went, with a view of the Seattle Great Wheel.

Seattle Great Wheel

Seattle Great Wheel

A few turns later, and it was up the hill to the finish.  Of all the course changes, I was really hoping we may not end on a hill.  That was wishful thinking.

The last little bit lasted FOREVER but finally I was across the finish line!!

With all that, my final time was 2:49:18.

Done!!

Done!!

Medal

Medal

This entry was posted in Race Report and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to 2013 Seattle Rock ‘N’ Roll Half Marathon

  1. Karen says:

    Great job, girl! Congrats on a great race!! :0)

  2. kebe51 says:

    Congrats of finishing! And don’t worry, I’ll have a chat with that Alien and make sure him and his ray gun won’t be around for next time 😉

    • Emily says:

      Haha!! Stupid Alien! And really, my time wasn’t awful, it was just for a split second there I really thought I was finally going to nail 2:45.

  3. Abby says:

    One day I’m going to get back and do this race. It’s my favorite! Congrats on getting through!

    • Emily says:

      It is so much fun!! My mom told me I should come back and do this race every year (to ensure I come and visit!). Plus I really do like the course changes they made.

  4. Run, Karla, Run says:

    Definitely sounds like the alien slow ray is to blame 🙂 I hate then that happens. Congrats on pulling it out! Sounds like a really fun race!

  5. msposko says:

    Looks like you had fun on your race and the weather cooperated which doesn’t always happen in Seattle. As for Midwest weather, I’d say the humidity is worse than the heat but you’ll be fine. 🙂

    • Emily says:

      I’m so not looking forward to the humidity!! But yes, it was a fun race and the weather was beautiful!

Leave a Reply

