Here Goes Nothing

Oops!  This was supposed to go out last night.  Think good thoughts for me as its my first day at the new job!!

It has been some sort of crazy last few weeks.  If I had to do this all over again, I might have made a different decision.  Not the decision to leave, and not the decision to move, but the decision of when to leave and a few other decisions along the way.  I don’t recommend leaving one job on Friday and starting a new one on Monday, especially when they are several states apart.  But what’s done is done, and tomorrow is my first day!  Ack!!

Goodbye Donuts (yes that is bacon on the maple bar, and no I didn't eat them all!)

Goodbye Donuts (yes that is bacon on the maple bar, and no I didn’t eat them all!)

To give you a little glimpse into my life the past two weeks, let’s just say I left the office for the last time around midnight and that was actually somewhat early for that week.  Needless to say I didn’t have a lot of time to pack.  I threw stuff in a suitcase and hoped for the best.  Plus, I think they might have stores in St. Louis! 🙂

Goodbye to my cube - my desk never looked so clean!

Goodbye to my cube – my desk never looked so clean!

I slept most of the flight and then I was there.  In St. Louis.  My new home.  I’m staying in temporary housing and so far the location seems pretty ideal!  (Of course, the thing about temporary housing is that I get to move all over again.)

Temp Housing

Temp Housing

There is a yoga studio literally across the street.  Score!  Forest Park (which was designed by the same person who designed Central Park) is across the freeway.  AND I found a secret tunnel a little ways down which leads directly to the park.

This way to the park

This way to the park

There is water in the park!  It is not Lake Washington by any means, and it isn’t quite blue, but still, its water!

Water!!

Water!!

Speaking of water, a new running store actually had a tent out and was handing out water to passing runners.  How cool!

Well, I just wanted to check in.  I’m still here.  And starting to learn my new surroundings.

Maybe next week I’ll be back to working out.

This entry was posted in Moving, St. Louis and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Here Goes Nothing

  1. Glad to hear that you made it safe and sound! I hope your transition goes smoothly, and that you get to make some good use of that park. 🙂

    • Emily says:

      Thanks Mandi!! I keep trying to remind myself that transition takes time. Having the park so close is going to go a long way in helping me feel at home!

  2. msposko says:

    Have fun exploring a new city! 🙂

  3. Karen :0) says:

    Good luck to you!! What an exciting adventure! Hope you have a great week!

    • Emily says:

      Thanks!! It was definitely an interesting week… Change is always hard, but I am hopeful it will continue to get more comfortable and familiar as time goes on.

  4. dnardi710 says:

    Congrats on the move and good luck at the new job! So great to have yoga and a nice park to run nearby when you’re in a new city!

    • Emily says:

      Thanks!! I know – the proximity of both the park and the yoga studio should help with transition and getting back into a routine.

  5. Abby says:

    Just coming over to check on you- glad to hear you made it! AND you’re already out running- look at you! Walking distance to a park?! So jelly!

    • Emily says:

      Right??? This is temporary housing but I’m ready to sign a lease based on the closeness to the park alone! Ha!

  6. Jaime says:

    Sounds like things are going well do far! Good job on the running!

  7. kebe51 says:

    Its awesome that you were able to make that move! Although definitely a little crazy that you didn’t give yourself any time in between jobs. Btw, can you have those bacon donuts FedExed to me somehow? Um…YUM!

    • Emily says:

      Mmmm, those donuts are delicious!!! Even if I was so tired I kept calling them macon baple donuts. I might need to FedEx some to myself!

Leave a Reply

