First Week

Here I am.  Checking back in.  One of the best things about this move has been my work BFF also made the move to St. Louis and the new company.  So I know one person, well two if you include my former / new boss.  Having another person going through the same thing has been so nice.

I’m just going to come right out and say it.  I HATE being the new person.  And yet everyone at some point in their life has experienced being the new person in some way, shape, or form.

I don’t like not knowing where I am going or what I should be doing.  There are times I really wish I hadn’t made this decision and was stuck back at in my comfortable rut.  There are feelings inadequacy that plague me daily regarding the job.  I really wonder if I’ve bitten off more than I can chew.  I didn’t necessarily want the promotion that came with this job, but was convinced I could handle it.

What doesn’t help is that I probably haven’t had a decent night’s sleep in about a bazillion years!!  (Remember how I like to exaggerate? 🙂 )  I came off probably the worst two weeks of work in recent memory and then hit the ground running.  Add in the fact I’m still getting over bronchitis of some sort and its no wonder I’m feeling so completely overwhelmed.  It all adds up to one giant pity party for me.

But before we get dragged deeper into my self-pity, let’s look at the good news column.  My car arrived!!  Yay!!  I feel so much better driving in my own car.  I’ve also been able to drive to and from work without the aid of a GPS!  Double yay!!  I got my haircut this weekend.  There is something so refreshing about newly cut hair.  I also had a massive shopping spree at Target (and other stores) and I’m slowly putting my apartment together (only to move again, but let’s not go there yet).

I’m trying to convince myself to take it hour by hour, day by day, and soon week by week. At this point next year, I am sure I will look back and marvel at how fast time flew by.

Checking out the arch

Checking out the arch

View of the arch from across the river

View of the arch from across the river

Toasted ravioli - a St. Louis delicacy

Toasted ravioli – a St. Louis delicacy

My massive Target shopping spree

My massive Target shopping spree

This entry was posted in Moving, St. Louis. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to First Week

  1. Hey Emily, I know exactly how you feel. Being the new person, having given up everything that’s familiar to you, taking on new responsibility — it’s all freaking hard! I always found it helpful to remind myself that the hard things are usually the things worth doing in life. They are the things that help us grow and change. Doesn’t make it better or easier though, I know. In any case, hang in there and enjoy your adventure!

    • Emily says:

      Thanks Mandi!! I know you understand. That is so true – this will definitely be a growing experience and it will be worth it in the end.

  2. Abby says:

    I know it can be overwhelming but definitely- take it day by day. Hour by hour if need be. Soon you’ll be an old hat at it, so take it all in!

  3. kebe51 says:

    Congratulations on surviving your first week! I know its rough being the newbie, but I’m sure you’ll be feeling more comfortable and at home in no time! And FYI, that is not a “massive” Target shopping spree. You need to check out my shopping cart every time I go there lol

    • Emily says:

      LOL!! It felt like a massive shopping cart!! And now I’m almost through week 2. It’s slowly getting better.

Leave a Reply

