Weekly Training Review

Guess I should start back in on these!  And you can see how much I’m not doing.  How long until Dumbo?

Monday

A whole lot of nothing until….

Saturday

  • A very hot and humid 8 miles that really should be called walking with just a hint of running.

Sunday

  • Warm vinyasa – you know, I think I like warm yoga!

Saturday morning I had to balance sleeping in with getting an early enough start on my run to attempt to beat some of the heat.  As I was getting ready I made the horrible discovery that I did not pack my fuel.  Boo!!!  Fortunately I have been intrigued by Energy Bits and had gotten some to try.  And I did pack that!  My stomach can be somewhat sensitive but I tried it and it seemed to do the trick!  I got outside and realized that I forgot my iPod. Ugh, so back upstairs I went.  I know some people can run without music, but I am generally not one of those people, especially when I needed the music to distract me from the heat.  Finally I was ready and set off.  I was already sweaty and I had barely started.  I decided rather than go entirely around the park I would go four miles and then turn around.  I lived for the shady parts!!  And I found a water fountain.  Hallelujah!  I also passed by some horses and a playground with a giant turtle.  The route actually had a few hills, which was nice as well as not so nice.  I ended up walking most of the hills.  The new running store was out again with a table offering water and gatorade to passing runners.  I was so excited to see them as it had been awhile since the last drinking fountain (I really need to look into some sort of hydration system).  I was almost back home when I tripped on the uneven sidewalk but fortunately caught myself before I ended up on the sidewalk.  Done!

Let’s see what happens next week!

My new trail

My new trail

This entry was posted in training and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Weekly Training Review

  1. kebe51 says:

    When do we get to start panicking about Dumbo?!?! lol At least you’ve got 8 miles! That’s something! Especially in this nightmare that has been the weather of this summer.

    • Emily says:

      Haha – I know!! It seemed so far away at first but now its coming up fast!! Ugh, I do not like the heat. And I really don’t like the humidity.

  2. Abby says:

    At least you got it done. That’s all that matters! What’s warm vinyasa? haha!

    • Emily says:

      Haha! They keep the room around 80 degrees (warm) rather than 90 – 100 (hot). It’s so much nicer!!! I have no idea how to describe vinyasa – it’s a type of flow through the different yoga poses.

Leave a Reply

