Weekly Training Review

Oops – I meant to get this out last night.

I don’t have a witty opening (I hoped to, but after several tries, I’m giving up) so let’s just jump right in.  I do have to say this turned out to be a beautiful weekend – with the humidity playing least in sight.

Monday

  • Nothing

Tuesday

  • 1/3 mile walk around my floor (so they have this 1 mile walking path at work – but guess what?  You have to do it on all three floors.  Or 3 times around)

Wednesday

  • Nada

Thursday

  • 2 mile walk through Forest Park (okay, more like stroll – there were lots of picture taking)
Pond outside the Jewel Box

Pond outside the Jewel Box

Friday

  • Zip, zero, zilch

Saturday

  • 8 mile run (it went way better with less humidity!)
  • Warm Vinyasa Flow yoga
Unending Hill

Unending Hill

Sunday

  • Unstoppable 5K (my first race in St Louis!)
At the Finish Line

At the Finish Line

Word on the street is that this is a mild summer.  I’ll take it!  I really don’t mind saying goodbye to the humidity.  Hopefully it’ll stay gone.

My unofficial official every year resolution / goal is to participate in a race of some sort every month.  And here was July fast coming to an end.  I searched and found a somewhat local 5K.  That started at 7:30.  Ugh.  But when you are down to the last weekend of July, you’ll take what you can get.

It’s also (way past) time to start with the doubles to in preparation for Dumbo.  Which meant Saturday morning would be long run day.  I’m happy to say there was less walking involved.  Even up the crazy long hill that is deceptively long.  I was happy to see the running store was out again with their water stop.

Sunday I was up early to make the trek out to Chesterfield.  I got off at what I thought was the right exit and kept driving and driving and driving.  I was starting to wonder if I should turn around and go up to the next exit when I saw a sign for race parking.  Yay!!  The race start was not quite a mile away from where they had us park.  You had the option of taking a bus or walking.  I opted to walk down where I picked up my shirt and bib.  I thought (briefly) about walking back to my car to put the shirt away but I glanced at my watch.  What you may or may not know about me is I am a freak about time.  I like to be early and I like to have a lot of cushion.  I probably did have enough time, but I didn’t want to take the chance.  And because it was “mild” outside (it was still hot to a PNW girl like myself) I went ahead and but the shirt on over my other one.

The race had been rebranded this year to raise money for the One Fund (to support those affected by the Boston Marathon tragedy).  There was a moment of silence at the beginning and then we were off.

One thing I miss about living in Seattle is seeing the mountains in the distance.  One thing I didn’t necessarily need to miss would be running hills.  But guess what?  For a place with no mountains, St. Louis does have a lot of rolling hills.  In fact, the course was basically one giant rolling hill.  Up and down, up and down.  But those uphills made those downhills even better.

And the best part was the downhill leading to the finish!  Woohoo!!  It wasn’t my best time, but it was by far not my worst.

This entry was posted in Race Report, Race the States, training and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Weekly Training Review

  1. Jaime says:

    Just think how much faster all of that hill training is going to make you! Good job, Emily!

  2. Abby says:

    Congrats on your new city race! Don’t worry, I’m a freak about time, too! Jealous of your lack of humidity!

    • Emily says:

      I do not know how you deal with humidity. I’d forgotten how bad it can be. Blech!! And everyone keeps saying how mild this summer is – which scares me! Haha!

  3. kebe51 says:

    I never have a witty opening, so there ya go! Congratulations on your first race in your new city! And that’s an awesome goal to have! I would love to try something like that, but I don’t think I have the discipline for one race a month…although I did almost have them for 4 months in a row!

    • Emily says:

      Thanks Kellie!! I started trying to do a race a month several years ago. It is a fun goal – even if a lot of the races turn into 5Ks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

