Return of the Diet Coke

If you have Return of the Mack stuck in your head my mission is accomplished!  I am not the only one with it playing in my head!

Several years ago, I reluctantly gave up Diet Coke for Lent.  And then immediately began drinking it after Easter.

The following Lent I also gave up Diet Coke (original, aren’t I?).  This time however, I was able to abstain even after Lent was over.  I had broken my Diet Coke habit!!  Well broken my habit with a few exceptions, most notably if I was on vacation or if I had an excruciating headache and the ibuprofen was slow to kick in.  (Side note: my cure-all for headaches?  Diet Coke, Chocolate and ibuprofen – I don’t question it, I just accept that it works.)

I have been relatively Diet Coke free for probably a good five years, until now.  With everything going on, it didn’t take much for me to hop back on the Diet Coke wagon.  Before you knew it, I was back up to several cans a day.

So I am now trying to wean myself off (again).  Now don’t get me wrong – I’m not trying to necessarily give up caffeine.  Hello, morning latte!!  And other times of the day!  I’m trying to cut down on the aspartame.  After all, coffee is somewhat natural right?  As is the milk and vanilla I put in my coffee.  (I am quite the enabler – I can pretty much rationalize anything.)

I’m down to one a day.  I’m not sure what it will take to get me back to zero a day but we’ll see.  Any tips for giving up bad (or not so bad) habits?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Return of the Diet Coke

  1. Abby says:

    Now that you make me think about it, I think I gave up diet coke almost a year ago! WoW! Anyway, the only time I drank it was at lunch or if I could find it in fountain form (OMG Nothing is better than fountain diet coke. . . well, maybe fountain coke zero! Ahhh!). But I just started switching it with iced tea so I still got my caffeine. I did miss the bubbly at first and people recommended seltzer water and fruit juice, but it wasn’t an issue for me. What IS an issue is when restaurants don’t brew tea and want to give me the sugar filled can tea. . .but that’s another story and I’ve already written a paragraph.

    Good luck with giving it up. I know you can do it!

  2. dnardi710 says:

    Coffee is my afternoon headache remedy – I tried to stop having coffee in the afternoon, but my Dr. actually told me to always try a coffee before taking migraine excedrine or my prescription medicine when I was getting headaches every afternoon b/c it’s often the caffeine that helps.

    It’s hard for me to relate to the soda “addiction” because I don’t even like soda to begin with, but you can do it – you did it once already! Just remember there’s really nothing beneficial about drinking a soda and always have water or maybe club soda nearby! Good luck!

    • Emily says:

      What’s funny is I don’t have a problem drinking water at all. I need to get back to drinking tea or I like your idea of club soda!

  3. kebe51 says:

    I never had to worry about giving up soda because I never liked it (total nightmare as a kid going to birthday parties btw). I also don’t like coffee, so if I have it I have to drown it in milk and sugar making it extremely unhealthy. But my dad was a BIG soda drinker. He gave it up, lost like 50lbs because of it (shows you how much he drank). He’s been soda free for I’d say at least 5 years too. Point? You can do it again! It’s probably extra tough because of everything you have going on right now, but just use some of that same dedication you have for your running to quit drinking soda. Good luck! 🙂

Leave a Reply

