Weekly Training Review

Another week closer to Disney, Disneyland!!  And we’re going to give up on even pretending that I’m doing anything even remotely training related during the week.  Just to give you a glimpse into my life – I’ve been at work until 10 p.m. (at least) most nights.  And I just don’t have the energy to do anything when I get home or wake up even earlier the next morning.  Now I know there are many people out there that probably work way more than I do and have other responsibilities and are still able to work out and do other things.  But me, I need sleep.  And much more sleep than I am getting.  And speaking of life in general – I still haven’t figured out where I’m living….  I am hoping to decide on that this week (since my temp housing is quickly coming to an end).  Thanks everyone for weighing in!!  Hopefully I will tell you my final answer this time next week!

Saturday

  • 11 miles

Sunday

  • (a very humid) Cardinals Care 6K

Another backwards double!  But as it turns out, it was a good thing it was backwards!  Sunday was muggy but at least I only had to do 6K as opposed to 11 miles.

I stepped outside Saturday morning to a very beautiful morning.  It was slightly cool with a breeze.  Yay!!  I turned left again out of my apartment.

A couple of things I’ve noticed about running in St. Louis – 1) runners aren’t super friendly.  About zero people returned my smile on my way out.  On my way back in, there were a few people who smiled – whew!  And 2) they like to run in packs.  Lots and lots of packs.  In fact I almost got swallowed up by a group of junior high / high school boys out running.  But I do have to say, they were fairly polite about it as they passed me.  One shirt caught my eye – “On the seventh day God ran an easy five.”  I don’t know why it cracked me up but it did!

So in the middle of my run when I was starting to fade, I turned into the park rather than sticking to the outside.  I found this little beauty.  I could have stayed here for awhile, but finally I started running again.

2013_08 FP 1

 

I didn’t choose my route so wisely as the big hill was towards the end.  I started dreading it while I was still aways away and so bribed myself that I could walk the entire hill.  But you’ll be glad to know I didn’t!  Rather than my normal interval, I would run from lamppost to lamppost.

I seem to be in sloooow mode lately, but finally I was done with my 11 miles!

Sunday I was ready for my 6K!  I drove down to the stadium and parked.  Fourth race in St. Louis and fourth time using a real bathroom instead of a port-o-potty!!  Score for me!!  I am getting spoiled.  Just in time for port-o-potty city at Disneyland.

We lined up outside the stadium and Jackie Joyner-Kersee counted us down!!  The course wasn’t anything spectacular (until the end, but we’ll get there).  My one sort-of complaint (but not really) is that the two water stops were mere blocks apart.  I would have liked the second water stop closer to the end.

I saw the leader coming towards me and it was a woman!!  You go girl!  (She ended up winning – how cool is that?)

I was keeping my intervals fairly well and before I knew it the reason I ran this race was right before me.  We ran through the tunnel and onto the warning track of Busch Stadium!!!!  Around the warning track we went until I crossed the finish line.  Yay!!

Even better – as I walked towards the water tables, I was able to shake hands with Jackie Joyner-Kersee and get a picture!!  How absolutely cool is that??!?!!

Waiting for the race to begin

Waiting for the race to begin

Looking down - feet pic on the warning track

Looking down – feet pic on the warning track

Jackie Joyner-Kersee!!!!!!

Jackie Joyner-Kersee!!!!!!

 

2013_08 Cards 4

Busch Stadium

This entry was posted in training and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Weekly Training Review

  1. kebe51 says:

    Dumbo is soooooo close! And you look like you’re gonna rock it! Sorry you’re work schedule has been so crazy, I’ve had stretches like that, hence my BIG concern for Dumbo. Good job on staying tough ( and not walking that hill)! And so exciting meeting Jackie Joyner-Kersee! Yay! 🙂

  2. Abby says:

    Sending good vibes that everything slows down (in a good way) soon! Not gonna lie, I only know who Jackie Joyner-Kersee is because of the show The Neighbors.

    That’s a beautiful find! I love finding great views on my runs. And that shirt cracked me up too!

Leave a Reply

