Back to Football Rams 5K

We interrupt what will end up being the Dumbo recap extravaganza to recap the 5K I ran this weekend.

Not long after moving to St Louis, I began scouring websites for races.  Lo and behold I found a 5K that finished on the 5o yard line of the Rams Stadium!  Being the sports fan that I am, I put the race on my calendar and even recruited a few co-workers to join me.  (Because I am a Seahawks fan, I did hesitate ever so slightly before signing up, since the Rams and the Seahawks are division rivals, but a chance to run on the 50 yard line was too much to pass up!)

Races generally sound really great when they are far away.  But let me tell you, waking up early on Saturday morning (after a late night at work) was pretty much the last thing I wanted to do.  But wake up I did and found myself at the starting line.

Ready to #sparkle

Ready to #sparkle

My streak of no port-o-potties in St Louis was broken.  They had an area set up outside the stadium for packet pick-up and lots of port-o-potties.  We got our bibs and then made our way over to the starting area.

They let groups of about 5o or so go about every minute, which was a nice way to break up the crowds.

Start Line

Start Line

And GO!

It took about a mile for my legs to wake up.  But finally they showed up.

The race took us around the downtown area and it was neat to explore it from street-level. I saw several places I want to go check out (including a gelateria and the City Museum).

Before you know it, we were heading into the stadium and through the tunnels and onto the field!!

There were volunteers and cheerleaders cheering as we made our way to the finish line.

Done!  I collected my medal, took a feet pic or two (on an actual NFL field!), and headed back out to the finish line area where they had plenty of water but no bananas (we had spied the bananas before starting but there were gone by the time we were finished).

All in all, a fun race!

Rams Stadium

Rams Stadium

I do it for the bling

I do it for the bling

Feet pic in the end zone!

Feet pic in the end zone!

 

 

This entry was posted in Race Report and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Back to Football Rams 5K

  1. Abby says:

    Glad you got to explore your new city via a race. That medal is really awesome!

    I totally want to do one of the sports races here, but NYC sports teams either play in Jersey or Queens- neither of which sound appealing to get to super early in the morning.

    • Emily says:

      The medal was awesome!! I hear you – on the one hand I like races to start early but on the other, sometimes it just isn’t worth the bother logistically.

  2. kebe51 says:

    Sounds like a blast! And love the medal! I’m a total football junkie, I did the NY Giants 5K a couple of months ago and you finished in the endzone, which was really cool, but there was no medal 😦

  3. Run, Karla, Run says:

    What a fun way to get to know your new city! Looks like a great race!

  4. christi in ma says:

    Congratulations! It’s fun seeing more NFL teams doing 5Ks. I’ve been doing a July 4th run that goes through Gillette Stadium (Patriots). You go up the ramps, around the top of stadium and back down. I wish they had a medal because that course is tough!

    • Emily says:

      That does sound tough!! I’m glad more stadiums are doing things like this – I think its great to be able to see areas that you don’t necessarily get to see otherwise.

  5. Karen :0) says:

    Congrats on the 5K! Sounds like a great race….a pro football field and a cute medal, I love it!

Leave a Reply

