Dumbo Double Dare 2013: Disneyland Half

Woohoo!!  Now that I’m finally caught up with my more recent races, I’m finally getting around to posting my Disneyland Half recap!  That only took – what?  A few months? 🙂  But see, this way you (and I) can remember how much fun it was without remembering the heat and the humidity!

I have been dreaming of the Disneyland Half medal ever since I first saw it, at least a few years ago.  The beautiful D medal beckoned to me and finally it would be mine!!

Rather than rehash the race and tax my memory, I’ll leave you with a few highlights that I do remember and pictures!!  Because really, it’s all about the pictures!

Hello Minne Mouse

Hello Minne Mouse

Hearing the World of Color music, instantly makes me happy!

World of Color

World of Color

I contemplated pushups for all of about 2 seconds – it was waaaaay too hot!!  But I finally got my pic with the Green Army Men!

Green Army Men

Green Army Men

I just love running through Cars Land – especially with the neon lights on!

Cars Land

Cars Land

Couldn’t resist a pic with the main star of the weekend!  Although climbing in and out was not necessarily fun! 🙂

With Dumbo

With Dumbo

My typical Mile 7 photo!  Over half way there!

Mile 7

Mile 7

It was around this time the heat and humidity was really getting to me.  I might have broken down and cried had I not run into Mario!!  (photo by Luigi)  I ended up walking with them for maybe close to a mile, and it just about saved my race.

Photo borrowed from Mario

Photo borrowed from Mario

One of my fave parts of the course (outside of the parks, of course!).  I think I high-fived every single kid in the stands!

At Angel Stadium

At Angel Stadium

And after Angel Stadium there was only 3 miles left!  Finally we were back on Disney property and I was across the finish line!!  Yay!!

FInisher!

Finisher!

And there you have it!  What heat and humidity?  I’m ready to sign up for next year!

This entry was posted in Race Report, runDisney, Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Dumbo Double Dare 2013: Disneyland Half

  1. Abby says:

    You’re so funny! I still haven’t forgotten how miserably hot that race was. I look forward to living vicariously through your race next year 😉

    • Emily says:

      Haha!! Oh man – I think I am going to try for it next year. This and the GSC are my only chances to go for perfect (for at least the first 5 years) from the inaugural race.

  2. FruitFly says:

    Sooooo hot!!! But you are right — now it is easy to look back and think of all those highlights and forget how miserable it got there in those non-shady parts! I’m so glad we found you. It really boosted my spirits when I needed a big boost!

    Next time, I’m begging in advance, do the push-ups! I want to see photos of that one!!

  3. dnardi710 says:

    Haha, I LOVE that you contemplated the green army man pushups! To be honest, mid-race pushups aren’t as bad as they sound, they give your legs a break and give your arms something to do for a bit!

    I love running by World of Color too, there is just something so mesmerizing about the water, the lights and the music!

  4. kebe51 says:

    This recap just makes me want to go back and do it all over again! I enjoyed this race a LOT! I’m think I might (almost) be able to convince Doug to let me go again…if not, I need to find some bunk buddies because I don’t know that I can resist this now that I’ve done it!

    And you have to do the push-ups! I’ll do them “with” you! It’ll be great!

Leave a Reply

