2013 Races in Review

The year is winding down and so it must be time to reflect.  In this version, we’ll look back at my year in races!  And what a year it was.

I didn’t start out the year with a specific goal of doing 12 half marathons, but that is how I would finish!  I also accomplished my one race per month goal, sometimes by the skin of my teeth.  2013 also saw several new to me distances – 6K, 5 Miler, and 15K, which meant several automatic PRs.  And while it wasn’t a super speedy year, I also set 2 actual PRs (half marathon and 15K).  All in all, my 2013 races spanned 3 5Ks, 6K, 4M, 8K, 5M, 2 10Ks, 2 15Ks, and 12 half marathons!!  Oh and a St Patrick’s Day dash for the fun of it!  I was only able to cross off 1 new state (well 2 if you count DC) but there is always next year, right?

Speaking of next year, what lies in store?  Could I possibly top 12 halfs with 14 in 2014?  We shall see…  I would also like to knock off a few more states (KY, TN, AR, IL, NY, OK – I’ve got my eyes on you!!).  As much as I would like 2014 to be the year of speed, I’m accepting the fact that I’m just not in a place where it will be possible.  Not to say I won’t try to bring the speed, but if it doesn’t happen, I will accept it.  (Really, I will.)

Now for the pictorial evidence of my 12, count them, 12 half marathons in 2013!

2013 Race Mosaic

  1. Tinker Bell (January)
  2. Rain Run (January)
  3. Princess with the Amazing Abby (February)
  4. Nike Women’s Half DC (April)
  5. Kirkland Half Marathon (May)
  6. Seattle Rock ‘N’ Roll (June)
  7. Disneyland Half with the fabulous Fruit Fly (September)
  8. GO! St Louis Halloween Half (October)
  9. St Louis Rock ‘N’ Roll (October)
  10. St Louis Half (November)
  11. Seattle Half (December)
  12. Santa to the Sea (December)
This entry was posted in Year in Review. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2013 Races in Review

  1. As always, I’m super impressed by all the races you ran this year! Wishing you a great 2014 as well!

  2. Abby says:

    How amazingly perfect was our Princess meetup?! Right in front of Sebastian! LOVED that I got to see you this year and I look forward to seeing you more in 2014!! YaY Rockstar!

Leave a Reply

