2014 Frostbite Series 20K

Lately I am just a big ball of negativity that’s trying not to be negative and find some positive in life.  I’m generally a happy person by nature and I really do try to live by the “I’d rather laugh than cry” motto.  But it’s getting more difficult.  And the unending winter is not helping.  I’ve been posting less because one, I honestly don’t have the time and two, I don’t need to infect anyone else with my negativity.

Of course, being that I’m going to WDW in less than two weeks is doing a lot for my spirits!!  I have my Magic Band displayed prominently in my hallway reminding me of my upcoming dose of magic.

Another week of practically non-existent training.  But when I saw the last edition of the Frostbite series was a 20K, I thought what better way to get in my long run?  But this time, I would start with the walkers.

I re-thought the plan when I woke up and found the ground covered with snow.  Not a lot of snow, but snow just the same.  I can do this – just take it slow and steady.

I lined up with the walkers and felt a bit like a fraud, but when we started off several of them started running slowly.  So I’m not the only one who wanted more time!  I decided to walk the first mile to see how the road surface was going to treat me.  There were slippery spots, but overall it wasn’t too bad.  Knowing I was going to take it easy, I switched up my intervals to 1:30/1:30.

My first goal was to get to the 2 mile marker before the main race started and my second goal was to get past the 3 mile marker before the leader caught me.  I’m happy to say that I accomplished both of those goals!

Of course once the leader caught me, it was an endless parade of people catching me.  I didn’t factor in the psychological impacts of having everyone in the entire race pass me.  And while I do tend to exaggerate, I think everyone did pass me with the exception of maybe one or two people.

But I finished.  With an extremely slow time.  How slow?  3:05.32 – that’s how slow.  But I finished.  And unlike last time, there was food and water at the finish line.  They were in the process of taking it down, but I was able to partake!  I love cookies at the finish line!!

Frostbite 20K

Frostbite 20K

This entry was posted in training and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 2014 Frostbite Series 20K

  1. kebe51 says:

    I think every race should have a cookie at the end. EVERY race.

    And I’m kinda in the same place you are right now with WDW the only thing lifting my spirits (although the constant fear of apocalyptic weather affecting my flight is still looming). Won’t be much longer till we’re in the happiest place on Earth! 🙂

  2. Abby says:

    Boo to the negative. I think it’s in the air, though. Is it Spring yet?!

    Lots of hugs coming your way in 2 weeks! 🙂

  3. Good for you to even get out there in this weather! I avoid snowy, cold races!

Leave a Reply

