Weekly Training Review

Let’s see, I’m behind on some recaps (Princess, NYC) but we are interrupting this regularly scheduled recap for a weekly training week, with actual training and yoga even!!

  • Wednesday – 1.6 mile treadmill walk
  • Friday – Sculpt class
  • Saturday – 60 min hot hatha class
  • Sunday – Mercer Island 10K

I was back in Seattle for a weekend which meant I got to go my old yoga studio!  It has been too long since I’ve done any kind of regular yoga and I need to fix that.  It hurt so good.

Since I was home, or back in Seattle anyway, I signed up for the Mercer Island 10K.  Its funny, I never remember how hilly this course is until I’m actually on it and by then its too late.  I should remember the hills – I used to run part of this route fairly regularly.

I was running a slight bit behind, which resulted in me being warmed up from hurrying to the start line.  But I made it with a few minutes to spare!  Whew!

And we were off!  Down the hill and through the park.  It was fairly crowded through the park but once we got to the street it thinned out.

I made a decision fairly early on to run as far as I could on the uphills, but if I needed to walk, I would.

Knowing that I have been losing speed at an alarming pace (see what I did there?), I went into the race with a goal of under 1:20.  But I was also aware all the hill walking might put a damper on my parade.

You know what else I forgot about this race?  That while it ends on a downhill, the downhill is preceded by an uphill.  I got to the top and took off towards the finish line.  Time?  Happily, I finished just under 1:20 at 1:18.52!

This entry was posted in Race Report, training and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Weekly Training Review

  1. Abby says:

    Congrats on your race even with the hills! I did yoga this week as well. I forgot how much I liked it.

Leave a Reply

