2014 GO! St Louis Half

So while my training / cross-training isn’t quite where I’d want it to be, I’ve actually done more than normal the past couple of weeks.  It gave me a little bit of optimism going into the weekend.  Of course that was before I worked longer than expected on Saturday and then couldn’t fall asleep.

Which meant when my alarm went off Sunday morning, I really wanted to hit snooze.  But I didn’t.  Instead I turned off my alarm, and somehow forgot to actually get out of bed.  Oops!  It ended up only being 10 minutes, but I felt like was behind before I even got started.

Finally I was on the road and parked.  It was 6:25ish at this point and I heard the announcer saying they were closing the corrals at 6:40.

Pre-race selfie

Pre-race selfie

I hurried to gear check and the bathroom.  Of course the gear check was completely in the opposite direction.  I barely made it to the corral.

At the start line

At the start line

And then we were off!  We headed out of downtown through Soulard and the Anheuser Busch plant before turning back towards downtown and (dun dun dun) Holy Hill.

Miles 6 – 8 are known as Holy Hill, otherwise known as the race within a race.  It’s basically one long uphill (with a little bit of downhill or flat at a crest before climbing again).  I debated walking most of Holy Hill, but instead decided to flip my intervals and run 1 minute, walk 2 minutes, which definitely helped keep me moving.

The best part about Holy Hill was when we got to the top, the race was more than half over!

My name was on my bib and I loved hearing all the “Go Emily” an even a “Go Em” here and there.  But by far my favorite was the volunteer who told me I looked gorgeous.  Aw, you are making me blush!

It was probably around Mile 10 at this point and my familiar IT band / hip pain was making itself known.  I thought about taking a long walk break, but instead decided to flip intervals again, but eventually brought the interval back to 1:30 / 1:30.

The Arch finally came into view, way off into the distance.  And it kept getting closer and closer.

Seriously, what is this with races ending on a hill?  This one didn’t quite end on a hill, but there was a hill leading up to the flat where it ended.   I mustered up my finish line kick, which wasn’t much of a kick, and got across the finish line!!  Done!!

New Shiny!!

New Shiny!!

And my time?  Why 2:53.21!  After the last few have been 3 hours, I’ll take this one!!  Maybe with some consistent training I’ll be back on track for my secret goal of 2:45!!

Half No 4

Half No 4

But the best part?  Ice cream sandwiches from Ted Drewes at the finish line!!  Yum!!

Yum!!

Yum!!

This entry was posted in Race Report and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to 2014 GO! St Louis Half

  1. kebe51 says:

    Congratulations on your time!!!!! Yay!!!!! And you can totally get that sub 2:45! You got this! And um, can I have a bite of that ice cream sandwich? Yum! All your races have the greatest post-race snacks!

  2. Jaime says:

    Congratulations! And that ice cream sandwich looks delicious! Mmmm

  3. I know that IT band /hip pain all too well! Way to push through girl! Congrats!

  4. Congrats on a great race and a great time!! Sorry about the hip pain. Nothing like an ice cream sandwich to make it all better! I wish every race had ice cream sandwiches!

  5. Abby says:

    That is an adorable medal!! Congrats on your 2:53! You’ll totally be to 2:45 before you know it!

    • Emily says:

      I love the medal!! I did the 5K the day before and they gave out similar medals. I loved the design – it reminds of me of a 50’s TV show.

  6. FruitFly says:

    That description reminds me of Seattle RnR….and wha we dubbed “the oh sh!t hill!” Sounds like a great race, nice job!

    • Emily says:

      Oh my gosh!! I buried that hill in the deep dark recesses of my mind. Ugh. What is with hills at the end of a race?

Leave a Reply

