2014 BolderBOULDER

When last we spoke, I had just finished 10 miles on the 50 yard line of Soldier Field.  I walked back to the hotel, did a quick change and was on my way to the airport.  Earlier in the week, United had emailed me and asked if I wanted to use miles to upgrade.  How did they know?  It was only a 2.5 hour flight but after 10 miles, I figured first class would be a nice touch, which shockingly it was.

I did the BolderBoulder race a few years ago and had so much fun!  I knew after coming into the stadium full of cheering people, it would not be the last time I did this race.

Somehow I not only convinced Jessica to go to Denver, but to also do the 10K as well.  She was going to walk it while I was going to run it.

We parked near the finish line and said see you at the finish line as my wave started before hers.  I took off toward the start line.  It was getting close to my wave’s start time, but I stopped and used the real bathroom.  I ended up jumping in a wave a few behind mine (I think there was around 90 waves).

Start line #selfie

Start line #selfie

We started off and almost immediately I felt the altitude.  It was hard to catch my breath.  It took the first mile before I felt like my breathing was under control.

So what would make me not only take one racecation for a 10K, but then repeat it again a few years later?  Especially when you consider the altitude?  Well, let me tell you!

We passed at least three different bands within the first mile and by the second mile we had passed Elvis.  There were belly dancers, Irish dancers, and pole dancers.

Pole Dancers (photo cred: Jessica)

Pole Dancers (photo cred: Jessica)

I counted two slip’n’slides.

Slip'n'slide (Photo cred: Jessica)

Slip’n’slide (Photo cred: Jessica)

Spectators were doing keg stands and passing out jello shots.  Any number of spectators were handing out popsicles or spraying water over the races (which was wonderful as it was getting hot out).  There was a watermelon slice stop.  And who could forget spectators dressed up as unicorns cheering the racers on!

YMCA Dancers (Photo cred: Jessica)

YMCA Dancers (Photo cred: Jessica)

This is one of the most fun races I have ever done – the crowd support is simply amazing!  I think the whole town of Boulder turns out to cheer on the racers.

Par for this year, I didn’t have a “real” time goal for this race, but more of a loose goal of finishing under 1 hour and 30 minutes.

Coming into the stadium, I had the biggest smile on my face!  And color me surprised when I finished with a time of 1:21.15, which was just a minute off my last time!

Finished

Finished

It was then time to spectate!  I found a place along the railing and watched the finishers come streaming in (including the Marines, fireman in full gear and police in full gear).  You could definitely tell when a uniformed group was entering the stadium as the cheers became deafening.

Police Team

Police Team

Being a spectator is hard work!!  I was looking for Jessica, and I swear I just looked up for one second at the big screen when the elite women’s race started and when I looked back down I could see her passing me.  Darn!  I raced to the finish line and was able to see her there.

We found a place to sit in the stadium and watched the elites finish.  They are fast!!!!  I was able to watch Mamitu Daska win her fourth BolderBoulder, Shalane Flanagan finish in second and Deena Kastor finish fourth.

Watching the elites come in

Watching the elites come in

The men’s finish was exciting as the second place finisher came within about a second of catching the winner.

But the excitement didn’t stop there.  The Memorial Day festivities began and finished with parachuters and a fly-over with vintage planes.  It was amazing!!!

US Flag Parachuter

US Flag Parachuter

I’m pretty sure this will not be my last time to do the BolderBoulder!!

This entry was posted in Race Report and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 2014 BolderBOULDER

  1. dnardi710 says:

    Oh my gosh, this looks like such a fun race!

  2. kebe51 says:

    My friend lives in Denver and I’ve never visited her (I’m horrible, I know) but this race sounds like the PERFECT excuse to finally get out there!

Leave a Reply

