2014 Seattle Rock ‘n’ Roll Half

Once upon a time, or last year, my friend decided she wanted to do a half marathon and we made a pact to do the Seattle RnR (even if I decided to move to St Louis, which I did). Plus any chance to visit home! 🙂

I took advantage of being home and scheduled a few appointments (still haven’t found a doctor or dentist in St Louis….I know, I know).  In between appointments and visiting friends, I made my way to the expo where there was no line to be taped with KT Tape!  That never happens!

Saturday morning I was up early and headed across the bridge.  Rather than dealing with parking at the race site, I took the monorail to the Seattle Center and met up with Nilly.

Twinsies!

Twinsies!

We said our goodbyes and good luck and I headed for the real bathrooms.  One of the best things about races starting at the Seattle Center are real bathrooms!

The other good thing about races at the Seattle Center?  Iconic landmarks!

Start Line

Start Line

And off we went down 5th Avenue!  My Garmin was acting up for the first few miles but settled down in the third mile.  The weather was great – slightly warm, but with a fantastic breeze that kept it from getting too warm.

We turned on to Rainier Avenue S and Mt Rainier was out and absolutely gorgeous!!

Down Genesee and then we turned toward Lake Washington where I saw this guy.

Rocker

Rocker

And where we passed by the 10K mark – I wasn’t too far off my PR pace.  I can do this!

Onto Lake Washington Boulevard we went.  I love running by the lake.  The marathoners split from the half marathoners.  There are tons of signs and volunteers telling you which way to go but I’m still paranoid I will accidentally get on the wrong course.

Lake Washington

Lake Washington

This is also the stretch manned by the Wear Blue: Run to Remember.  The pictures of fallen soldiers and the American flags waving get me every time.

Up onto I-90 (via the ridiculous hill) and through the tunnel.  It is still really cool to run on the freeway!

My pace had slowed somewhat but an under 3 hour finish was still in my grasp.  And then I saw Nilly not to far ahead of me.  I put on a burst of speed and caught up with her.  Good thing we were wearing matching skirts!!

Me & Nilly

Me & Nilly

Her training had not gone as she had planned and she was cramping.  The decision to stick with her and walk the rest of the race was actually pretty easy.  Plus the next section was pretty hilly and walking the hills is still good practice for San Fran, right?

Back into downtown and up to Highway 99 where there were beautiful views of the Seattle Great Wheel.

Seattle Great Wheel

Seattle Great Wheel

Through another tunnel, around a corner and then the evil hill right before the finish line.  A few friends had come down to the finish line and were waiting at the top of the hill to cheer us.

I saw the finish line and turned to Nilly to tell her I was going to run now.  I saw my family off to the side and waved just before crossing the finish line!

Almost to the finish line

Almost to the finish line

My time?  Eh, one of my slowest non-Disney race times, but that’s okay.  I didn’t beat 3 hours (coming in at 3:12.50), but I am still feeling okay about San Fran.

Winnahs!

Winnahs!

To cap off the day, I stayed for the Sir Mix-a-Lot concert and ran into this lovely lady!!!  Yay!!

Just chilling with Sir Mix-a-Lot

Just chilling with Sir Mix-a-Lot

How cool is this medal?

Hello bling!!

Hello bling!!

This entry was posted in Race Report and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2014 Seattle Rock ‘n’ Roll Half

  1. FruitFly says:

    That blue mile … always gets me, too! We talked for quite a while to one of the women at the expo so it was nice to see her face and exchange big waves at each other!

    SOOOO glad you texted me!! I was thinking how it felt wrong not having you there — and there you were!! We will have to reunite at Seattle again some time!!
    ~RR

    • Emily says:

      We definitely need to reunite at Seattle again!!! I’m so glad we got to meet up and smell whatever it was that guy was smoking! 🙂

Leave a Reply

