2014 Biggest Loser 10K

Saturday, I was up early for the Biggest Loser 10K.  I wasn’t expecting much as work has been taking up a lot of my time.   It was taking place at Six Flags and we were directed to park in what seemed like the very back corner of the parking lot.  While there seemed to be a decent turn-out, it had a feel of a small race.

We set off, and I was actually keeping up with the 10:30 pacer.  Have I mentioned before that I start out waaaaay too fast?  That lasted for not quite the first half mile.  I managed to say with the 11:00 pacer until almost the 1 mile marker, before fading to my normal pace.

Start Line

Start Line

The first part of the course took place in Six Flags, starting in the parking lot, before heading into the park and then the behind the scenes roads, which were not in the greatest of shape.  I had visions of me tripping and falling (which fortunately I did not do!).  The course was also surprisingly hilly!

Once we exited the park, the course wound its way through the parking lot towards the finish line.  But only for the 5Kers!  Those doing the 10K started the loop all over again.

Part II was much of the same, except for that small stretch when I couldn’t see anyone in front of me or behind me and wondered if I had accidentally wandered off course.

Going into the race, I was hoping to come in under 1:20.  As I got closer I realized that this was entirely possible and in fact, I could PR.  Well based on their course.  What I also realized was the course was short (according to my watch anyway).  I did end up with a PR at 1:14 even, if the course was accurate.  But I have my doubts.

Across the finish line

Across the finish line

So now, here is the dilemma…do I count this race as a PR?  Or not?  My watch clocked in at 5.93 but could it be my watch?  I was having problems finding a satellite at the beginning.  So I ask you, dear readers, would you count the PR or not?

Done!

Done!

This entry was posted in Race Report and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to 2014 Biggest Loser 10K

  1. Jana says:

    Count it!

  2. Congratulations! I’d be inclined to say count it, esp. if you were having satellite issues. My watch is super accurate once it has found a signal, but when I start a workout before it does, it often shorts me on the distance. If the course was certified, then definitely count it!

    • Emily says:

      Good thought on the certified course. Surprisingly (or not) I couldn’t find a reference to the course being certified so maybe the course really was short.

  3. kebe51 says:

    Congratulations on your new PR! You should totally count it because hey, it’s a 10K race course, therefore, it’s a 10K PR! Well, that’s my story and I’m sticking to it! 🙂

    • Emily says:

      I like your story!! And I think I will definitely stick with it (especially if I need a Disney proof of time! 🙂 )

  4. dnardi710 says:

    Is it a certified course?? I’d probably go by that, but I guess really it’s up to you!

    • Emily says:

      If I could find proof the course was certified, I’d definitely claim it. Buuuut, since the website doesn’t come right out and say it, I’m guessing it wasn’t certified (and most likely the course was short). Which makes the rule follower me tend to say I won’t count it.

  5. Jaime says:

    Totally a PR. There are times when I run with my garmin and use Runkeeper on my phone and come up with different distances. The same is true when I’ve run with other people wearing the same garmin I am and our distances are different. I say enjoy your victory!

Leave a Reply

